Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s College of Education and Human Services (COEHS)’s collaborative teacher preparation program with UW-Fox Valley, UW-Fond du Lac, UW-Manitowoc, UW-Marinette and UW-Sheboygan has selected seven Alternative Careers in Teaching (act!) students to be the first recipients of $10,000 Robert Noyce Teacher stipends.

The recipients are as follows:

  • Lisa Fitzgerald — UW-Fox Valley
  • Kristine Jackson — UW-Fox Valley
  • Marion Maentz — UW-Fox Valley
  • Deanne Pierce — UW-Fox Valley
  • Amy Sabel — UW-Fond du Lac
  • Cindy Schaefer Kemps — UW-Fox Valley
  • Tracey Starck — UW-Fox Valley

The Noyce Teacher stipend, funded by the National Science Foundation, will award $10,000 each to up to 50 highly qualified students over the next five years. The stipend helps to defray students’ academic and personal expenses during their time in the act! program. The program encourages talented science, technology, engineering and math professionals to become K-12 mathematics or science teachers.

“Nontraditional students in the act! program have few options for financial assistance as they transition to careers as professional math or science teachers,” said associate curriculum and instruction professor Michael Beeth, who serves as director of the  EXCEL Center for professional development.

“The Noyce stipend program provides essential resources for tuition, fees, books and other expenses to our students, and it encourages these individuals to take positions in school districts with high need for math or science teachers,” he said.

Applicants for a Noyce stipend must be enrolled in the act! program through COEHS and area UW Colleges, hold an advanced National Science Foundation-approved degree in Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics (STEM) and meet additional requirements.

The Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program seeks to encourage talented STEM professionals to become K-12 mathematics or science teachers. This National Science Foundation-supported program provides funds to institutions of higher education to support students who commit to teaching in high-need school districts.

For more information about act! visit