Select Page

Eight University of Wisconsin Oshkosh faculty from among the four colleges have been honored with the Edward M. Penson Award, which recognizes full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty who have a record of excellence in teaching, scholarship or service to the University.

The eight recipients for 2008 are as follows:

  • Susan Cramer, human services and professional leadership (COEHS)
  • Kathryn Henn-Reinke, curriculum and instruction (COEHS)
  • Michael Godfrey, supply chain and operations management (COB)
  • Marianne Johnson, economics (COB)
  • Marty Robinson, music (COLS)
  • Michelle Tobia, art (COLS)
  • Dana Vaughan, biology and microbiology (COLS)
  • Mary Ellen Wurzbach (CON)

The Penson Fund for Faculty is a perpetual endowment fund created by friends of Edward M. Penson to recognize and celebrate his accomplishments as chancellor of UW Oshkosh from 1978 to 1989. The endowment assists in addressing the challenges the University faces in the recruitment and retention of highly qualified, full-time faculty — the nucleus of any university of distinction.

The professional development funds allow faculty to attend conferences or engage in scholarly research and can be used to encourage greater collegiality among the faculty or between senior administrators and faculty.