Select Page

A 19-member cross-college team from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh will participate in the District 8 National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) in St. Paul, Minn., April 19.

UW Oshkosh will compete against 10 schools from Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Canada. The first place team will advance to the national competition in Atlanta, Ga., June 8.

The NSAC, sponsored by the American Advertising Federation, gives more than 3,000 college students in the United States and Canada the opportunity to create a strategic marketing campaign for a corporate sponsor.

“Many ideas these students are presenting are cutting edge, specifically in the areas of mobile and interactive marketing. Students, advisers and professionals have gained valuable insights this year and are more prepared to connect with a young consumer mindset,” said Kathy Fredrickson, team adviser for UW Oshkosh.

The 2008 NSAC competition require the teams to create an integrated marketing plan for AOL Instant Messager and its suite of social media products.

“This competition provides students the opportunity to apply their academic knowledge to a real-world objective,” said Dana Baumgart, team adviser for UW Oshkosh.

Team members are Nycol Block (journalism), Margaret Brill (journalism), Marie Daniel (journalism), Matt Decker (graphic design), Ann DeVillers (journalism), Preston Fayas (marketing), Brittany Harms (journalism), JJ Heber (marketing and radio/TV/film), Tina Hove (journalism), Jessica Malcolm (journalism), Samuel Mark (radio/TV/film), Kelly Meyer (journalism), Jamie Neitzel (marketing), Erin School (journalism), Liz Schulze (marketing), Kelly Shew (journalism), Kirsten Strom (marketing), Ashley Taylor (journalism) and Heather Verhelst (graphic design).

Fredrickson and Baumgart, instructors for the UW Oshkosh journalism department, co-teach Strategic Campaigns in Advertising, the course students take to participate in the competition.

UW Oshkosh has competed in the competition for more than 20 years. Previous teams have placed first (2003) and fifth (2005, 2007) in the competition, earning the distinction as the highest ranking Wisconsin-based University.