Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh music department is hosting the 2019 Wisconsin Alliance for Composers New Music Festival on Saturday, March 2 with two free concerts.

A concert at 5:30 p.m. will feature winning elementary, middle school, high school and undergraduate compositions from statewide student submissions. Among the performers will be UW Oshkosh senior music major Edward Uttendorfer, of Fond du Lac, who is the winner in the undergraduate composer category.

A concert at 7:30 p.m. will include works by Wisconsin Alliance for Composers member,s including UW Oshkosh music department faculty Ed Martin and John Mayrose, as well as works by composers from UW-Whitewater, UW-Madison and other universities. Music will be performed by UW Oshkosh faculty members Drew Whiting, Linda Pereksta, Laura McLaughlin, Kirstin Ihde and Dylan Chmura-Moore, as well as UWO student musicians.

Admission to both concerts is free and open to the public. The event takes place in the UW Oshkosh Music Hall, 1001 Elmwood Ave. There will be a light reception in the Music Hall lobby between the concerts.

“These concerts are a great opportunity for the community to hear brand new music that has never been performed before and written by Wisconsin composers from the elementary school to the professional level,” Martin said. “The festival gives us the opportunity to celebrate the creativity, imagination and musicianship of Wisconsin composers.”

Music composition major Eddie Uttendorfer, plays classical guitar for the residents of Miravida Living in Oshkosh, as part of his anthropology class.

The winning students were chosen from a statewide call for scores. Each submission was judged by three professional composers. For many of the winning students, the festival will be the first time they will have heard their music performed in a public concert.

“I’m sure this will be an incredibly exciting moment for the students,” Martin added. “This festival gives us, as a community, the opportunity to celebrate their achievements together. We hope that the festival inspires the students to continue composing in the future.”



New Music Winners

Elementary school (K-8)

  • Winner: Abigail Ourada, Appleton
  • Honorable Mention: Lily Sun, Brookfield
  • Honorable Mention: Brianna Young, Pewaukee

Middle School

  • Winner: Harry Baldwin, Appleton
  • Honorable Mention: Aiden Gorr, Waukesha
  • Honorable Mention: Eryka Machan, Waterford

High School

  • Winner: Siddharth Nadkarni, Hartland


  • Winner: Edward Uttendorfer, UW Oshkosh
  • Honorable Mention: Nicholas Alber, UW-Whitewater
  • Honorable Mention: Bryce Daniels, St. Norbert College

Learn more: