Select Page

Four UWFox professors were part of a group of 34 faculty members recently awarded promotions or tenure in the University of Wisconsin Colleges and UW-Extension.

“Earning promotion or tenure requires a rigorous academic review, so I extend my sincere congratulations on this major academic career achievement,” said Chancellor Sandeen. “Like all faculty members, I know these colleagues will continue to make valuable contributions to ensure that the UW Colleges and UW-Extension meets its vital mission within the State of Wisconsin.”

Promotion from Associate Professor with tenure to Professor with tenure:

  • Brett Barker: UW-Marathon County, History
  • Jennifer Erickson: UW-Extension, Community Resource Development
  • Jason Fischbach: UW-Extension, Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • Caroline Geary: UW-Fox Valley, Chemistry
  • Mark Hagedorn: UW-Extension, Agriculture & Life Sciences
  • Jennifer Heinert: UW-Washington County, English
  • Mark Karau: UW-Sheboygan, History
  • Jonathan Kasparek: UW-Waukesha, History
  • Pam Massey: UW-Fox Valley, Health, Exercise Science, and Athletics
  • Lou Pech: UW-Marathon County, Biological Sciences
  • Karl Schindl: UW- Manitowoc, Business/Economics
  • Joan Sprain: UW-Extension, Family Development
  • Elizabeth Zanichkowsky: UW-Waukesha, English

Promotion from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor with tenure:

  • Julianna Alitto: UW-Waukesha, Psychology/Education
  • Missy Bablick: UW-Extension, Family Development
  • Richard Brunson: UW-Marshfield/Wood County, Music
  • Timothy Buchholz: UW-Marathon County, Music
  • Patricia Carroll: UW-Extension, Family Development
  • William Cronin: UW-Extension, Community Resource Development
  • Jason Hausler: UW-Extension, Youth Development
  • Beth Johnson: UW-Fox Valley, Geography/Geology
  • Suzanne Joneson: UW-Waukesha, Biological Sciences
  • Neil Klemme: UW-Extension, Youth Development
  • Zhifang Peng: UW-Richland, Business/Economics
  • Mark Schmitz: UW-Sheboygan, Biological Sciences
  • Christopher Stark: UW-Extension, Community Resource Development
  • Rebecca Stone Thornberry: UW-Marinette, Communications-Theatre Arts
  • Jill Stukenberg: UW-Marathon County, English
  • Jennifer Swensen: UW-Extension, Youth Development
  • Christy Talbott: UW-Sheboygan, Music
  • Mohan Thapa: UW-Washington County, Mathematics
  • Christa Van Treek: UW-Extension, Youth Development
  • Christopher Wilbur: UW-Baraboo/Sauk County, Psychology/Education
  • Younis Zaidan: UW-Fox Valley, Mathematics

The UW System Board of Regents formally voted to approve the promotions or tenure at their June meeting, and they are effective July 1, 2017, for UW-Extension, and August 28, 2017, for UW Colleges, which is the first day of the 2017-2018 academic year. 

UW Colleges is an institution of the UW System comprised of 13 freshman-sophomore campuses and UW Colleges Online that offer an associate degree in arts and science and a single Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences degree, and prepare students of all ages and backgrounds for baccalaureate and professional programs.

UW-Extension serves Wisconsin families, businesses and communities statewide through offices in all 72 Wisconsin counties and three tribal nations, continuing education services through all 26 UW System campuses, the UW Flexible Option partnership with UW System campuses, the statewide broadcasting networks of Wisconsin Public Radio and Wisconsin Public Television, and entrepreneurship and economic development activities by county throughout the state.


Emily Campbell