Select Page

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to students

The University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac has named its 2017-18 Kaplan Award recipients.Kayoung Kim

This award recognizes individuals for significant and innovative improvement in instruction and/or service to students. Recipients receive a $250 grant from the university which is matched by the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation. The award honors Arthur M. Kaplan, who retired in 1993 as vice chancellor of the UW Colleges.

Dr. Kayoung Kim, psychology professor, received the award in recognition of her outreach and partnership with the Children’s Museum of Fond du Lac to initiate a Living Laboratory research program, which was originally developed through a grant under the National Science Foundation. Through this collaboration, UW-Fond du Lac students have the opportunity to design and conduct their own research while providing a valuable service to the community. Kim mentors 15 students in research planning, implementation and evaluation.

Dr. Carey Woodward, physics and astronomy professor, received the award for his innovation and resourcefulness in creating a laboratory timer, which provides deeper student learning and understanding of physics and laboratory techniques. His device, LabSplits, has a computer interface which is more precise, easier to use and more cost effective than other commercial options.Carey Woodward

“Dr. Kim and Dr. Woodward are innovators in finding ways to improve student learning in the classroom and in the community,” said Dr. Martin Rudd, UW Colleges regional executive officer and dean. “They are committed to the future success of our students through community engagement and very deserving of this recognition.”


Laurie Krasin