Select Page

Recognized at March 23 Corks & Forks dinner

John E. AhernJohn E. Ahern will receive UW-Fond du Lac’s 2016 Spirit of Excellence Award. He will be recognized at the university’s annual fundraising dinner, Corks & Forks on March 23.

John is being honored for his long-time support of UW-Fond du Lac and the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation.

The Spirit of Excellence Award honors individuals who have made an exceptional commitment of support to UW-Fond du Lac and the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation, making it an excellent learning institution. “John Ahern embodies the spirit of excellence by the example he has set through both his personal and corporate support of education,” said Rhonda Stucky, UW-Fond du Lac Foundation executive director. “Under his leadership J.F. Ahern Co. has generously supported the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation through board membership and donations. His commitment to education and this community is a legacy that we have seen reflected in J.F. Ahern Co. and its employees.”

Previous UW-Fond du Lac Spirit of Excellence Awards have been given to Jim and Ginny Gilmore; Allen Buechel; Judith Berger O’Brien; Harold “Danny” and Charmaine LaShay; and Bill Henken.

The Corks & Forks event featuring food and wine will be held 5-9 p.m. on Wednesday, March 23, in the UW-Fond du Lac University Center Commons.
This is the largest fundraiser of the year supporting UW-Fond du Lac student scholarships and the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation. The evening features a four-course meal featuring French cuisine beginning with international hors d’oeuvres prepared by Linstrom’s Catering. Major sponsors for the event are Agnesian Healthcare; C.D. Smith Construction, Inc.; Michel’s Corporation; and Society Insurance.

Individual reservations are $75 per person. Tables of eight and sponsorships are available. Advance reservations and payment are needed by March 16. Additional information is online or call (920) 929-1335.

The UW-Fond du Lac Foundation was established in 1974 to support the campus and awarded more than $36,000 in scholarships to students for the 2015-16 academic year. It is directed by a 22-member volunteer board of directors.


Rhonda Stucky