Select Page

scholarship recipients

The University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac Foundation recently awarded more than $30,000 in scholarships to 34 new and continuing students for the academic year 2014-2015. The awards included endowments and donor-named scholarships, as well as general UW-Fond du Lac Foundation scholarships.

Pictured are the students receiving 2014-15 UW-Fond du Lac scholarships.

Row 1 (left to right): Erick Schmidt, Patricia Sullivan, Angela Otero, Shannon McCabe, Haley Wald, Luckie Cha, Jane Schwantes, Lauren Freund, Brett Williams, Leah Lambert, Baylee Ziebert. Row 2: Courtney Williams, Hannah Lein, Alyssa Harmsen, Samantha Pfeiffer, Joel Castro, Jr.

Row 3: Dustin Schneider, Rebekah Schalk, Becka Valdez, Troy Schneider. Row 4: Kyle Winter, Marshall Bennett, Patrick Schwoerer, Patrick Fredrickson. Row 5: Brent Wagner, Jordan Kuehnl, Haosheng Chen.

Not pictured: Rachel Burghardt, Kimberly Fleming, Laine Kuether, Hannah Lavrenz, Nicole Mader, Sarah Seegert and Justin Serwe.

Scholarship recipients and their donors had the opportunity to meet on Oct. 1 at the annual UW-Fond du Lac Foundation Scholarship Awards and Donor Recognition Reception held in the University Center Commons. The student speaker was Kimberly Fleming, who shared her personal story and thanked donors. Judith Berger O’Brien spoke on behalf of the donors emphasizing the importance of giving back to the community.

A highlight of the event was the presentation of the Distinguished Alumni Award to Paul Thelen, director of liturgy and music at Holy Family Catholic Community. After accepting the award, Thelen and two of his daughters, Elise Estes and Eva Thelen, also UW-Fond du Lac alumnae, performed a classical duet for two sopranos and piano.


Rhonda Stucky