Select Page

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to students

The University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac has named its 2013-14 Kaplan Award recipients.

This award recognizes individuals or teams for significant and innovative improvement in instruction and/or service to students. Recipients receive a $250 grant. The award honors Arthur M. Kaplan, who retired in 1993 as vice chancellor of the UW Colleges.

Laurie Krasin, director of marketing and communications; Bethany Rusch, assistant dean for administration and finance; and Kathy Strong Langolf, special events coordinator;share an award for their development, planning and implementation of the new Corks & Forks signature fundraising event in spring 2013 which showcased students, faculty and staff. The event raised $18,000 for student scholarships and the UW-Fond du Lac Foundation, strengthening the university’s ability to provide scholarship awards.

Paul Sager, English lecturer, received an award for his dedication to assisting students with their writing skills through creative use of competition, teamwork and rewards to motivate students and his recognition of the challenges associated with teaching grammar through conventional methods.

“The Kaplan awards are a great honor and signify major accomplishments by the faculty and staff on our campus,” said John Short, UW-Fond du Lac dean and CEO. “These members of our campus community demonstrate creative approaches to student learning and success as well as the commitment to professionalism and best practices in higher education.”

UW-Fond du Lac is part of the UW System and one of the thirteen campuses of the UW Colleges. Kaplan Awards are presented at each of the thirteen UW Colleges campuses.


Laurie Krasin