Select Page

Students from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh took home ten student media awards presented by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association during the organization’s recent annual student media conference.

A record 229 productions were in the competition and the 60 winning entries were shared among 13 educational institutions.

UW Oshkosh swept one category taking first, second and third place honors for non-play-by-play radio sports programming heard over campus radio station WRST-FM. UWO senior Greg Peterson produced all three winning entries, with first place award for WRST’s weekly program Oshkosh Sports Saturday on Dec. 6.  His other winning segments were interviews Peterson conducted with Green Bay Packers player Nick Collins and Fox Sports college football analyst Charles Davis.

In non-play-by-play television sports programming, UWO took second place for the Titan TV Sports Homecoming Special, produced by Justine Braun, Adam Steinbach and Tyler Stricker with production assistance from Curtis Aderholt, Quentin Badger and Alex Belville.

UWO also took second place is radio sports play-by-play programming for the WRST broadcast of the UWO vs. UW-Whitewater football game called by Alex Crowe and Neil Hebert.

Three radio segments produced for the UWO Advanced Radio Production class and which aired over WRST were also honored.  In the category for long-form non-news radio segments, a supernatural drama by Bryan Stoffel took second place and an historical segment on a crowd-funded video game by Trevor Schmandt took third. A long-form report about modern dairy farming by Andrew Dunlap took third place in the radio documentary category.

WRST’s Election Night Special took second place in the radio category for public affairs and specials. It was produced by student news director Mariah Tralongo and the live broadcast included guest experts by phone and in the studio.

UWO’s Titan TV took third place in the public affairs category for television programs with an episode of the program Titan Tonight called “Titan Fitness.” It was produced by Sherry McMahon and Ann Jarzynski and directed by Justine Braun with production assistance from Anthony Bruno, Josh Decker, Neil Hebert, Amanda Hein, Jessica Hesselink, Eric McMullen, Andrew Severson and Ethan VerKuilen.

UW Oshkosh has won 89 WBA awards since the student media competition was begun in 2004.

Eleven UW Oshkosh students attended the conference in Middleton on March 7, along with Justine Stokes and Randall Davidson of the Radio TV Film faculty. WBA reports a record 160 students and faculty were at the conference.

Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today.