Select Page

Faculty, staff, students and private citizens are welcome to nominate candidates for a University of Wisconsin Oshkosh honorary degree. Nomination forms are available in the Provost and Vice Chancellor’s Office, Dempsey 335, and online at Nominations should be sent to the Provost and Vice Chancellor’s Office, Dempsey 335, by 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008.

Honorary degrees are given to individuals of exceptional accomplishment and distinction who have made significant contributions to the university, region, state or nation. The UW Oshkosh Honorary Degree Committee recommends recipients to the Chancellor, who with the University of Wisconsin System President, recommends nominees to the Board of Regents. For more information, see the Faculty and Academic Staff Handbook under General Personnel Materials, University Policies and Procedures.

Strong consideration is given to those who have a current or past connection to the University, region or state of Wisconsin; are distinguished alumni; or display excellence in reflecting the University’s vision of engaging people and ideas for common good. Public officials, political appointees, members of the UW System Board of Regents and UW System employees are ineligible for an honorary degree.