Select Page

Radio-TV-film students at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh recently received national honors for their productions.

UW Oshkosh won three national first-place awards given out by the Broadcast Education Association as part of their Festival of Media Arts. The awards for student productions were given out at the organization’s annual convention in Las Vegas.

UWO placed first in two of the script categories: Kayde Fisher won in the short subject category for her script “Crimson Shadows,” which will be produced by the UW Oshkosh Film Society. Fisher also is the creator/producer/writer of the TV drama “Powerless,” which can be seen weeknights at 7:30 p.m. on Titan TV/Time Warner channel 66. The other first-place award went to Jared A. Robinson for a television spec scripts he wrote for an episode of “The Office” called “Outbreak.”

In the radio play by play category, Bryan Scholz, Tyler Thrune and Christopher Mueller took first place for a call of the women’s volleyball tournament semifinal at which the Titans faced UW-Eau Claire. Scholz, who served as an intern last summer for WTMJ-AM/Milwaukee and the Brewers Radio Network, was play-by-play announcer for the broadcast. Thrune, WRST’s sports director, was color commentator, and Mueller, who is currently interning with the Tampa Bay Rays baseball team, produced the broadcast.

UW Oshkosh students also received five national first-place awards and seven honorable mentions during the National Broadcasting Society’s 47th National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition, held in Dallas. UW Oshkosh tied for third with the University of Oklahoma in number of finalists in the competition. A total of 502 entries were received.

First place awards

  • Audio Sports Play-by-Play Programming — Mueller, Scholz and Thrune for the UWO-UWEC volleyball matchup.
  • Video Drama Program — J.P. Russell for the video “I AM.” Russell is president of the local chapter of the National Broadcasting Society.
  • Video PSA — Brittney Berna, Jon Kline and Kelly Rettig for “My Community Foundation.” Kline is the student manager of Titan TV, and Berna is the station’s operations manager.
  • Drama Program Script — Shannon Traska for “Shadows on the Sage.”
  • Academic Paper — Jon Kline for a paper he wrote on children’s television programming.

Honorable mentions

  • Audio news package — Colin Bennett for “Grand Opera Funds.” Bennett was news director of WRST and produced the piece for statewide broadcast over Wisconsin Public Radio.
  • Audio feature segment — Jared Bublitz for “The Wurst Piece Ever,” a segment on the search for a new slogan for WRST. Bublitz is student manager of WRST and produced the piece for the Advanced Radio Production class.
  • Video Sports Package — B.J. DeGroot, Chris Mueller and Ian Segovia for a profile of Titan basketball player Dane Seckar-Anderson. De Groot and Segovia are managers of WRST’s online audio service.
  • Video Instructional/Industrial/Promotional — J.P. Russell for “Titan TV.”
  • Drama program script — Kevin Heyer for “Crabwise” and Jared Robinson for “WarTIMES-Pilot.”
  • Spec script — Jared Robinson for his episode of “The Office” titled “Outbreak.”

To see a list of the contest winners, go to

Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today. Click here to submit.