Select Page

Eighteen members of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh faculty and staff will represent the University at the President’s Summit on Teaching and Learning April 29 to May 1 in Madison.

Assistant Vice Chancellor Carleen Vande Zande served as an organizer of the UW System event, which will bring together more than 300 faculty and staff across disciplines to demonstrate UW System’s commitment to excellence in higher education despite difficult economic times. The summit will provide a forum in which to recognize, acknowledge and share the expertise of faculty and academic staff who excel at teaching, value learning and are committed to sharing their experience, knowledge, practice and scholarship.

The intentional relationships among teaching, learning and making excellence inclusive will be highlighted throughout this event.

In addition to keynote addresses by UW System President Kevin Reilly and others, the summit will feature plenary and concurrent sessions on curricular transformation and the scholarship of teaching and learning across the disciplines in the arts, humanities, global and international education, interdisciplinary studies, professional studies, social sciences and STEM areas.

Designed to advance inclusive excellence — UW System’s planning process for greater diversity, equity and inclusion — the summit will showcase presentations focused on inclusive pedagogies in disability studies, race and ethnic studies and women, gender and sexuality studies and socioeconomic status across the curriculum; emerging and effective technologies in the classroom; and high-impact practices.

UW Oshkosh faculty and staff who will present at the summit include the following: Provost Lane Earns; John Koker, dean of the College of Letters and Science; Perry Retting and Carleen Vande Zande of the Office of the Provost; College of Letters and Science faculty Lori Carrell, Lee McCann, Stephanie Sephar, Jim Feldman, Christine Roth, Jim Frey, Kevin Crawford, Arlene Haffa and Grace Lim; College of Nursing faculty Susan Bonis; and College of Education and Human Services faculty Elizabeth Alderton, Marguerite Parks, Karen Gibson, Eric Brunsell and Judy Lambert.

For more information about the summit, visit

This announcement was submitted by Carleen Vande Zande, Office of the Provost. Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today. Click here to submit.