Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Model United Nations team represented two countries and received two Honorable Mention Awards at the 2010 National Model United Nations competition, marking the 26th consecutive year the University won awards at the competition.

UW Oshkosh represented Mozambique and Finland at the largest intercollegiate Model U.N. in the world, held March 29-April 3 at U.N. headquarters in New York. The week-long 2010 National Model United Nations involved more than 5,000 students from more than 300 universities on five continents.

Student delegates debated a wide range of current issues and world events, using the same rooms and facilities as the global diplomats at the United Nations. The concluding General Assembly was held in the Great Hall at U.N. headquarters. UW Oshkosh students won Delegates’ Choice Awards, by vote of the participating delegates, in two committees: Austin R. Jones of Waukesha, and David G. Cottingham of Green Bay received the award in the International Atomic Energy Agency, and Rebecca R. Kemnitz of Wausau and Anna C. Schlender of Kimberly received the award in the Economic and Social Council.

Students are judged on their diplomatic and negotiating skills; their ability to write legal documents that embody the agreements reached; the accuracy with which they represent their respective nations; their knowledge of global issues; their familiarity with the United Nations system and its procedures, practices, bodies, and committees; and their speaking ability.

During the competition, UW Oshkosh students met with diplomats representing both Mozambique and Finland as well as the African Union. They also met with numerous U.N. officials, including the special adviser to the secretary general on Africa and officers from the United Nations Department of Disarmament, the International Atomic Energy Agency, the High Commissioner for Refugees and the United Nations Environment Programme.

Diplomats from these offices reviewed and commented on the student written position papers, noting that the positions in the papers accurately reflected the views of African nations. These sessions were based entirely on student questions and the student-written position papers.

Other participating universities included Pace, Colorado, Syracuse, British Columbia, Maryland, California Polytechnic, Pittsburgh, Iowa, Washington State, Quebec, Milan, Florida International, the City University of New York, Boise State, Vassar College, the University of London, the Free University of Berlin, the Universidad del Valle de Mexico, the American University of Cairo, the Central University of Venezuela, Imperial College of London, the University of Copenhagen and Northwestern Polytechnic University of China.

Members of the UW Oshkosh delegation

  • Susan M. Asselin, Sheboygan Falls
  • Ross M. Bartelt, Franklin
  • Kathleen K. Connor, Oshkosh
  • David G. Cottingham, Green Bay
  • Marci M. DeYoung, Stoughton
  • Veronica E. Dreymiller, Waupun
  • Corey H. Edwards, Oshkosh
  • Kasey A. Erb, Marshall
  • Zachary L. Fritschel, West Bend
  • Kentaro Fujiwara, Oshkosh
  • Marni A. Hoest, Menasha
  • Austin R. Jones, Waukesha
  • Pablo A. Juarez, Beloit
  • Katie C. Keelan, Wauwatosa
  • Rebecca R. Kemnitz, Wausau
  • Courtney D. Kottman, Oshkosh
  • Alex E. Kurowski, Oshkosh
  • David M. Litman, Fond du Lac
  • Victor O. Luk’yanov, Oshkosh
  • Madeline J. Meis, Pittsville
  • Brenna M. Ranzen, Madison
  • Anna C. Schlender, Kimberly
  • Amber N. Springer, Wisconsin Rapids
  • Timothy J. Suess, Oshkosh
  • Kristen A. Summers, Madison

Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today. Click here to submit.