Select Page

Radio-TV-film students at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh took home 11 of the 52 student media awards presented by the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association during the organization’s student media conference, winning more awards than any other institution.

A record 162 entries were considered for the competition. Fourteen UW Oshkosh students attended the annual conference March 6 in Middleton, along with Justine Stokes and Randall Davidson, radio-TV-film faculty members.

UW Oshkosh swept the category for long-form, non-news radio production, placing first, second and third. First place went to John Calliari, of Plymouth, for his profile of video gaming culture. Second place went to Colin Bennett, of Greendale, and Stefanie Jacobson, of Neenah, for an episode of their weekly series “A Day in the Life,” and third place went to WRST station manager Jared Bublitz, of Jackson, for a piece he did on the radio station considering a change in its marketing slogan. The Bublitz and Calliari pieces were produced for the Advanced Radio Production class.

  • Listen to the first-place feature by Calliari.

In the news documentary category, WRST co-news director Sarah Lind, of Pine River, took third place for her feature segment on the Yellowstone Trail, a national auto route of the 1920s and 1930s, part of which is Algoma Boulevard in Oshkosh. The segment aired over WRST and also on WOJB-FM, the public radio station in Hayward.

In the radio sports story category, former WRST station manager and sports director Chris Mueller, of New Holstein, took second place for a story he did on the UW Oshkosh women’s volleyball team advancing to the national semi-finals. Mueller currently is interning with the Tampa Bay Rays baseball team.

In the radio play by play category, Bryan Scholz, of Thiensville, and Tyler Thrune, of Prairie du Sac, took first place for their call of the women’s volleyball tournament semifinal, during which the Titans faced UW-Eau Claire. Thrune is WRST’s sports director, and Scholz is WRST’s program director. Their segment recently received a first-place national award from the Broadcast Education Association.

  • Listen to the volleyball play by play.

In the category for long-form, non-news television production, UW Oshkosh took first place for a segment of a short film by J.P. Russell, of Milwaukee, and Peter Murphy, Muskego, called “Condition One.” UW Oshkosh took second place in the TV news documentary category for a profile of Titan basketball player Dane Seckar-Anderson done by Titan TV sports staffers Mueller; Ian Segovia, of Sheboygan; and B.J. DeGroot, of Omro.

UW Oshkosh garnered a first-place award in the category for public service announcements for a PSA on planned giving for the Oshkosh Community Foundation, produced by Jon Kline, of West Bend; Kelly Rettig, of Allenton; and Brittney Berna, of Pulaski. Kline is the student station manager of UWO’s Titan TV, and Berna, Titan TV’s operations manager, just completed an internship with ABC’s “Wipeout” in Los Angeles.

In the category for TV sports play by play, UW Oshkosh won second place for a basketball broadcast between UWO and UW-Eau Claire by Segovia; Jake Timm, of Manawa; and Christian Tuinstra, of Union Grove. UW Oshkosh got the third-place award in this category for a football segment when the Titans played Huntingdon College. The segment was produced by Mueller, Segovia and Thrune.

UW Oshkosh has won 34 WBA awards since the student media competition was begun in 2004.