Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s College of Nursing (CON) recognized 23 Wisconsin nurses for their many accomplishments at the annual Nightingale Award Dinner in May.

Seven of the 23 also were honored with the prestigious Nightingale Award for Excellence in Practice.

This 2012 award ceremony—the 20th anniversary of the Nightingale awards—is a special one, said Rebecca Cleveland, a UW Oshkosh nurse educator since 1979.

Cleveland said the Nightingale Awards are a very important part of recognizing how significant nurses can be in helping people.

“Dedicated nurses impact their patients’ and families’ lives each day with accomplishments that are all too often unrecognized,” Cleveland said. “They are the unsung heroes of healthcare; this award program gives these selfless, altruistic professionals a moment of recognition.”

In the past 20 years, more than 100 nurses have been recognized with a Nightingale award. Colleagues, patients and co-workers nominate the nurses for their many accomplishments in nursing excellence in clinical practice.

“At some time in our lives we have had intelligent, skilled nurses give compassionate care to our mothers, brothers, children or neighbors,” Cleveland said. “Patients, families and healthcare agencies appreciate the opportunity to show their gratitude to these dedicated professionals.”

Colleen Huseboe, CON advancement officer, said, historically, the winners of the Nightingale Awards excel in multiple areas of the nursing field, demonstrate a number of achievements and are committed to nursing education through attendance at conferences, pursuit of advanced degrees, certifications and journals and in the expression of compassion toward patients.

Winners of the Nightingale award received a piece of commemorative artwork engraved with their name and credentials and a $1,000 award. The annual event is hosted by the UW Oshkosh College of Nursing and the Board of Visitors, with support from regional healthcare organizations.

2012 Nightingale Award winners from the left: Audrey James, BSN ’04; Lynette Joy Bosin, BSN, RN; Dee (Delores) Fietzer, BSN, RN; Teresa Paulus, BSN, RN; Adeline I. Schroeder (Abby), ADN, RN; Mary Ann Berrens BSN ’02; and Jeanean Bauer, BSN, RN.

CON alumni nominated for the Nightingale Award included Claudette Amundson BSN ’88, Mary Ann Berrens BSN ’02, Dena Entringer BSN ’05, Audrey James BSN ’04, Mari A. Krueger BSN ’91, MSE‘02, Lisa LeBlanc BSN ’08, and Paula Shimulunas, BSN ’94.

Seven nurses were selected as recipients of the prestigious Nightingale Award:
Jeanean Bauer, BSN, RN, works as a wound care/ostomy nurse at St. Elizabeth Hospital;
Mary Ann Berrens, BSN, RN, is a staff nurse in the day surgical unit at the Appleton Medical Center and New London Family Medical Center;
Lynette Joy Bosin, BSN, RN, is a registered nurse at St. Agnes Hospital Home Care;
Dee (Delores) Fietzer, BSN, RN, works at the ambulatory care department at ThedaCare’s Riverside Medical Center;
Audrey James, BSN, RN, works as a staff nurse in the intensive care unit and the emergency department at Aurora Medical Center;
Teresa Paulus, BSN, RN, is a public health nurse for the Winnebago County Health Department; and
Adeline I. Schroeder (Abby), ADN, RN, is a clinical support nurse at Bridge Community Health Clinic.

2011 honorees

2011 Nightingale Award winners from the left: Susan Tischaefer, RN; Rhonda Handel, RN; Scott Rogalsky BSN ’07; Jan Andrews, RN; and Karen Balke, BSN, RN.

Nineteen nurses from across Wisconsin were recognized last year by patients, colleagues and supervisors for their nursing excellence. CON alumni nominated for Nightingale Awards included Brad Berger BSN ’09, Rosalyn Evans BSN ’87, Nancy Gimenez BSN ’96, Nancy Horn BSN ’09, Correen Marvin BSN ’95, Jamie Ray BSN ’07, Scott Rogalsky BSN ’07, Linda Schwister BSN ’01, and Mindy Wilderman BSN ’06.

Five nurses were selected as recipients of the Nightingale Award:
Jan Andrews, RN, is a surgical first assistant at St. Agnes Hospital;
Karen Balke, BSN, RN, is a disease management nurse at the Appleton Veterans Association Clinic;
Rhonda Handel, RN, is a pediatric nurse at Memorial Heath Center Clinics;
Susan Tischaefer, RN, is an operating room circulator staff nurse at the Fond du Lac Surgery Center; and
Scott Rogalsky, BSN, RN, is an emergency department staff nurse at Ripon Medical Center.

Read more about the Nightingale award.

Contributed by Brittany Farrell, IMC STEP student