Select Page

The 19th annual  Nightingale Awards Dinner to celebrate the outstanding work of 19 dedicated nurses from across Wisconsin was held May 4.   The dinner, established by the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh College of Nursing in conjunction with the Board of Visitors in 1993, recognizes nurses involved in direct patient care who represent the highest standards of nursing practice.

The 2011 nominees are:

Jan Andrews, RN, surgical assistant, St. Agnes Hospital

Karen Balke, BSN, RN, Certified Diabetes Educator, Disease Management, Appleton VA Clinic

Brad Berger, BSN, RN, Eden Green House Homes

Tonya Boone, BSN, RN, staff nurse Intensive Care Unit, Agnesian Healthcare

Rosalyn Evans, BSN, RN, ICU nurse, Berlin Memorial Hospital

Nancy Gimenez, BSN, RN, diabetes education coordinator, Berlin Memorial Hospital

Lois Goss, RN, medical/surgical RN, Aurora Medical Center Oshkosh

Joni Hahn, BSN, RN, cardiac intensive care RN, Aspirus Wausau Hospital

Nancy Horn, BSN, RN on Medical Service Unit, Appleton Medical Center

Rhonda Handel, RN, pediatric nurse at Memorial Health Center Clinics

Michelle (Shelly) Leystra, RN, Winnebago Mental Health Institute

Coreen Marvin, BSN, RN, staff nurse, Appleton Medical Center

Lorna O’Donovan, BSN, RN, medical/surgical staff nurse, Waupun Memorial Hospital

Tracy Paris, RN, wound care specialist, CHN Home Care

Jamie Ray, BSN, RN, clinical lead on Medical Service Unit, Appleton Medical Center

Scott Rogalsky, BSN, RN, staff nurse emergency cepartment, Ripon Medical Center

Linda Schwister, MSN, RN, public health nurse, Outagamie County Division of Public Health

Susan Tischaefer, RN, OR circulator staff nurse, Fond du Lac Surgery Center

Mindy Wilderman, BSN, RN, Nurse Clinician II, Winnebago Mental Health Institute

The UW Oshkosh College of Nursing’s Board of Visitors selects the Nightingale Award winners from the outstanding nominees.  The board is provided blind copies of all submitted nomination papers and supporting letters so that identifying information about the nominee, nominators and agency is not revealed.

The 2011 Nightingale Award Winners are:

Jan Andrews, RN, Surgical Assistant at St. Agnes Hospital who has fifty years of experience.  Jan’s colleague says that having Jan in the OR with him is like having a board certified surgeon on the other side of the operating table.

Rhonda Handel, RN, Pediatric Nurse at Memorial Health Centers Clinics is an essential resource to the families she has served in Medford for over 30 years.

Susan Tischaefer, RN, is an OR Circulatory Staff Nurse, at Fond du Lac Surgery Center.  Susan was recognized for her commitment to helping others through her 39 years of nursing experience and her numerous volunteer activities.

Karen Balke, BSN, RN, was commended for her tireless work on behalf of veterans at the Appleton VA Clinic.  Through her work as part of the Diabetes Resource Group, Karen has made evidenced based changes to the Hypoglycemia Protocols.

Scott Rogalsky, BSN, RN, was recognized by at Ripon Medical Center for his calm leadership when caring for critically ill patients in the Emergency Department.

Each Nightingale Award winner receives a piece of artwork and a $1,000 award, which is financed by private donations.

The Gold Level Sponsors for the event are Affinity Health System, Agnesian HealthCare, Aurora Health Care, Evergreen Retirement Community Inc. , Fox Valley District Nurses Association, Phyllis Leach, Lutheran Homes of Oshkosh, ThedaCare and Winnebago Mental Health Institute.

Silver Level sponsors are Berlin Memorial Hospital and Ripon Medical Center.  The Bronze Level sponsor is Aspirus Wausau Hospital.

If you would like more information about how to nominate an outstanding nurse or how to become a Nightingale sponsor, please contact Colleen Huseboe at (920) 424-3165 or