Select Page

As part of its continuing effort to create better, more efficient and customer-friendly business practices within its membership institutions, the Central Association of College and University Business Officers (CACUBO) has created a Best Practices Award Program.

Deb Matulle and Lynn Kriha of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s Division of Finance and Administration received the second place 2011 Best Practices Award and a $500 honorarium.

Their submission “Increased Delinquent Student Accounts Receivable Collected Faster” described UW Oshkosh’s success in replacing its long-standing paper billing process with an entirely electronic billing one. Instead of printing and mailing bills to students, email notifications are sent when students’ bills are ready to review online.

Program submissions were reviewed by 40 program reviewers who judged the submissions based on the effectiveness of the best practice, its measurable benefits, its applicability to other higher education institutions, and future institutional benefits.

First place and a $1,000 honorarium went to David Lindberg of the North Dakota State College of Science. NDSCS’s submission, “Paperless Human Resources: a Best Practice Model,” showcased the college’s transition from a paper-based human resource office at a state institution to a paperless one.

CACUBO awarded third place and $500 to Zainudeen Popoola, Ron Bailey and Larry Smidt of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for their program “Custodial Training On-Line Experience.” This web-based training program focuses on improving the quality and uniformity of training new hires and existing custodial staff.

UW Oshkosh Finance and Administration submitted this announcement. Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today.