Select Page

’66 Kenneth Shingler (EHS), of Shawano, is retiring from the College of Menominee Nation where he has been an English teacher since 2001. Shingler previously taught English at Shawano High School for 33 years.

’69 Ken Wydeven (EHS), of Appleton, was one member of the Vietnam Veterans of America Chapter 351 who presented about his war experiences to the Hilbert High School students and the public. Wydeven said he graduated from UW Oshkosh on a Friday night and was drafted the following Monday morning. After his service in Vietnam, Wydeven was a teacher and principal at St. John Sacred Heart Sherwood.

John Close ’76

’76 John Close (LS), of Charlotte, North Carolina, sported his Titan gear while vacationing in Frankfurt, Germany.

’78 Jeff Gerritt (LS), of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, took first place for column writing in the 2024 National Headliner Awards. Gerritt wrote as the editorial page editor of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

’82 Tom Washatka (LS), of Oshkosh, was the guest saxophonist with the Ripon College Jazz Ensemble in April. Washatka is a composer, arranger, recording engineer and producer who has been performing music for over 40 years. Washatka is married to performing artist Janet Planet.

’94 Craig Weberg (LS), of East Troy, was named the Rock County Sheriff’s Office 2024 Correctional Officer of the Year. Weberg works in the Community Corrections Bureau as a diversion officer and the only Huber officer.

’99 Teri (Kemppainen) McKean (EHS), of Skokie, Illinois, is the director of crisis and support operations for NAMI Chicago and an adjunct instructor with the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign School of Social Work. McKean is married to ’00 Jason McKean (EHS).

’03 Curt Kubiak (MBA), of Neenah, is the president and CEO of The Alliance whose mission is to improve the quality and affordability of healthcare. Kubiak is the founder and CEO of NOVO Health since 2014.

’05 Lauren Garstecki (LS), of San Tan Valley, Arizona, is the managing director of Aker Ink PR and Marketing. Garstecki has two decades of experience guiding business development strategies in healthcare, financial services, manufacturing and more.

’08 Rebekah Peppler (LS), of Paris, France, has written a cookbook, Le Sud: Recipes from Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur, which delves into the food, drinks and places that inspire her love of southern France.

’14 Leah (Christian) Anderson (EHS), of Denver, Colorado, and her husband, ’13 Dan Anderson (EHS) are expecting a baby girl.

’14 Steve Harrison (MS), of Winneconne, is the superintendent of the Neenah Joint School District. Harrison has been the Appleton Area School District’s assistant superintendent for five years.

’15 Irineo “Neo” Medina (LS), of Kaukauna, celebrated the completion of a new mural on the side of Read Elementary School in Oshkosh. Medina, the students, several teachers and more than 40 community members helped paint the mural next to the playground. Depicted are portraits of students in bright colors representing the vibrant and diverse nature of the school body.

’15 Carrie Rule (LS), of Oshkosh, launched Carrie Rule Limitless, a leadership development consulting business.

’17 Kim Lohman (N), of Prairie du Sac, has been a nurse at Sauk Prairie Hospital for 12 years. Lohman volunteers with Sauk Prairie Ambulance and has two children.

Kim Lohman ’17 and family

’17 Mai Nu (Thao) Vang (EHS) and ’22 (MS), of Green Bay, is a teacher in the Green Bay Area Public School District. Vang was named one of the Top 40 Most Influential Asian American Leaders in Wisconsin in 2023 by Madison 365. Vang was also named one of the 2024 Top 40 Under 40 Young Professionals of Northeast Wisconsin by Insight Publications.

’18 Colby Kasten (LS), of Reedsville, is opening Legacy Spine and Sport, specializing in family chiropractic services and sports performance and rehab.

Mai Nu Vang ’17 and ’22 MS

’19 Danielle Block (MPA), of Appleton, is the Village of Kimberly’s village administrator and public works director. Block held this same position from 2017-2022 before joining the City of Appleton as public works director.

’19 Anthony Burgard (LS) and ’21 (LS), of Hubertus, is chief of the Hartford Fire and Rescue Department. Burgard was previously chief of the Richfield Volunteer Fire Company for four years where he had worked since 2004.

’22 Jack Halbach (EHS), of Hilbert, has returned to his alma mater to teach tech education at Hilbert High School.