Select Page

’54 John Newhouse (EHS), of Whitewater, was posthumously awarded the Whitewater Chamber of Commerce Good Neighbor Award. Newhouse was the retired principal of Whitewater High School and was active in his community.

’72 Wendy (Halle) Carlson (EHS), and former classmates toured the former Campus School (Swart Hall) in August.

Wendy Carlson and friends

’83 Lisa Zemlock (EHS) and ’93 (MS), of Oshkosh, is a retired middle school band director from the Winneconne Community School District. Zemlock enjoys playing with other Titan alumni in the Appleton City Band.

‘86 Lynn (Kowalkowski) Stankevich (EHS), of Goodman, is the district administrator for the Beecher-Dunbar-Pembine School District. Stankevich has been employed by the school district for over 36 years.

’91 Jeff Matczak (EHS), of Kaukauna, is a physical education teacher and successful wrestling coach in the Kaukauna Area School District. Matczak received the 2021-2022 NFHS National Wrestling Coach of the Year Award.

’91 Monica (Manthey) Schmude (LS), of Vienna, Virginia, is the president of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Virginia. Schmude was named by Virginia Business magazine to its Virginia 500 2023 Power List, a recognition given to Virginia’s most powerful and influential leaders in business, government, politics, and education.

’94 Michael Stelling (EHS), of Erie, Colorado, is a counselor with the Adams 12 Five Star School District where he was named Counselor of the Month in April. The Colorado governor appointed Stelling to the Colorado Workforce Development Council.

’94 Dean Vesperman (LS), of Prescott, is an associate professor of education at UW-River Falls and was elected president of the Social Science Educational Consortium in June.

Dean Vesperman

‘96 Erin (Sonnabend) Propson (B), of Hilbert, was appointed director of sales operations at the packaging firm Charter Next Generation Inc. in Milton. She has been an elected member of the Hilbert School District’s board of education for more than 12 years.

’97 Sara (Cooper) Hechel (EHS), of Appleton, is the Freedom School District’s director of special education and district assessment coordinator. Hechel is married to ’00 Matt Hechel (EHS), a teacher and coach at Appleton North High School.

’97 Nicole (Fowler) Leiter (LS) and ’13 (MSE), of Winneconne, is a care management supervisor with Lakeland Care and is married to ’02 Erik Leiter (LS).

’01 Laura (Frank) Biehn (LS), of Oshkosh, is the Fox Valley Workforce Development Board’s chairperson. Biehn is a senior organizational development partner with Sargento Corp.

‘04 Teri Grossheim (LS), of Arlington, Virginia, is on the Audio Engineering Society’s (AES) Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee. While serving in the data sub-committee, her group’s proposal on a first-ever DEI Survey Analysis was accepted for the AES 2023 Convention in New York City.

’05 Steven Williams (EHS), of Menomonee Falls, is the principal at Mayville Junior/Senior High School.

‘05 Sarah Zimmerman (LS), of Appleton, released her fantasy novel Every Dark Shadow. The book is set in a parallel version of New York City in the 1800s. Zimmerman writes fantasy fiction under the pen name Sarah Zimm.

’10 Brian Vollmer (B), of Madison, celebrated 10 years of employment at Direct Supply, where he is a senior account manager.

‘11 Sean Lynch (LS), of Oshkosh, celebrated the 10-year anniversary of his business, Winnebago Bicycle. The shop not only sells bikes, but also is involved with events such as Slow Roll Oshkosh and the Alleycat Race Series.

’12 Josh Hughes (LS), of Waukesha, is a videographer and photographer at Carroll University and is married to ’14 Allison (Kerwin) Hughes (B).

’14 Jolene Schatzinger (MSE), of Ripon, is the executive director of the Fond du Lac Area Women’s Fund. Schatzinger is also an alderwoman in Ripon and a board member for both the Ripon Area Fire District Board and the Ripon Community Media Committee.

’16 Amber (Wilkinson) Gordon (LS), of St. Louis, Missouri, is the assistant manager of the St. Louis Public Library and is married to ’16 Ross Gordon (LS).

’16 Rebecca Timmins (LS) and ’20 (MS), of Menasha, received Appleton Magazine’s 2023 Women’s Inspire Award. Timmins is the founder, director, and childcare teacher at Celebrate Neurodiversity! Respite and Resource Center.

’17 Kyle Hodyl (LS), of Wheaton, Illinois, is a pediatric physical therapist at UChicago Medicine. Hodyl was named an Outstanding Clinical Instructor by the Illinois Physical Therapy Association (IPTA).

’18 Laura Boucher (EHS), of Adams, is a special education teacher at Adams-Friendship Elementary School.

’19 Jeff Bell (MS), of Marshfield, is an assistant principal in the Loyal School District.

Pamela Fleming

’19 Brianna Pfeiler (EHS), of Clintonville, is an early elementary special education teacher in the Marion School District.

’20 Lance LeQue (LS), of Fond du Lac, is a sports reporter with USA Today Network Wisconsin. LeQue covers the Oshkosh and Fond du Lac sports beat for the Oshkosh Northwestern, Fond du Lac Reporter and occasionally The Post-Crescent in Appleton. Last year LeQue’s story about the Donald Driver Charity Softball Game was picked up by Yahoo! Sports.

’21 Pamela Fleming (N), of Seattle, Washington, is a community tour activation specialist with the Seattle Mariners. Fleming will complete her master’s degree in Sports Administration in 2024.

‘21 Scott McMahon (MBA), of Neenah, is a business analysis and data analytics instructor at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College in Green Bay. McMahon previously worked at Thrivent in Appleton and AriensCo in Brillion.

‘21 Austin Hammond (LS), of Menasha, is the development director for Atlas Science Center. Hammond was previously the outreach coordinator for the Greater Fox Cities Habitat for Humanity and is a member of the Menasha Common Council and Brothertown Indian Nation Tribal Council.