Select Page

The University of Wisconsin System has named Lisa Schreibersdorf, a UW Oshkosh associate English professor on the Fond du Lac campus, to the 2023–24 Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars program.

Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars (WTFS) must demonstrate excellent teaching skills and have a curiosity about student learning to be nominated by Provosts. The yearlong program began in mid-June and will culminate with a research presentation at the annual Spring Conference on Teaching and Learning in Madison.

The program provides UW faculty and teaching academic staff a unique opportunity to collaborate with other exceptional teachers from across the UW System and from various disciplines. In addition to discussing influential literature, participants are guided through systematic research focused on improving student learning through a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) project.

Schreibersdorf, who earned a doctorate at UW-Madison, teaches courses focused on women’s literature and multi-ethnic literature.

At UWO Fond du Lac, she shifted her focus from literary and cultural studies to the study of teaching and learning. Her recent scholarship focuses on teaching literature and online learning.

“I am especially interested in how we can use Scholarship of Teaching and Learning to improve communication between students and teachers,” she said. “For example, my article on how students interpret and use teachers’ written comments on their essays in literature courses revealed a significant mismatch between students’ understanding and instructors’ intentions.”

The project Schribersdorf is developing with WTFS involves students’ and instructors’ assumptions about grading.

WTFS is one of three signature programs offered by the UW System’s Office of Professional and Instructional Development (OPID). OPID supports UW System’s 13 Centers for Teaching and Learning in fostering a culture of teaching and learning excellence in Wisconsin. Together they offer professional development programs that ensure student learning in face-to-face, online and blended learning environments.

WTFS is directed by two faculty leaders, Valerie Barske, a history professor at UW-Stevens Point, and Heather Pelzel, a biology professor at UW-Whitewater.

Other 2023–24 Wisconsin Teaching Fellows and Scholars include:

  • Anna Cook, UW-Eau Claire, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Damar Kovačević, UW-Eau Claire, political science
  • Kimberley Reilly, UW-Green Bay, history
  • Cord Brundage, UW-La Crosse, comparative animal physiology
  • Kate Evans, UW-La Crosse, recreation management
  • Eugenia Turov, UW-La Crosse, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Megan Orcholski, UW-Milwaukee, communication
  • Hilary Snow, UW-Milwaukee, Honors College
  • Maria Franshaw, UW-Parkside, teacher education – mathematics
  • Hilary Rasmussen, UW-Parkside, communication
  • Ganapathy Natarajan, UW-Platteville, industrial engineering
  • Sarah Strange, UW-Platteville, theatre
  • Chris Holtkamp, UW-River Falls, plant and earth sciences
  • Erik Kline, UW-River Falls, English
  • Lauren Gantz, UW-Stevens Point, multiethnic literature, postcolonial literature, and women’s and gender studies
  • Sarah Ross, UW-Stevens Point, theatre design and technology
  • Erica Ringelspaugh, UW-Stevens Point, English
  • Kenneth Mullins, UW-Stout, business
  • Vivek Singhal, UW-Stout, engineering
  • Joshua Stangle, UW-Superior, mathematics
  • Jennifer Vogler, UW-Superior, educational administration
  • Rashiqa Kamal, UW-Whitewater, finance
  • Courtney Wilt, UW-Whitewater, special education

Learn more: