Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s celebrated radio TV film (RTF) program is again earning national recognition.

What’s new: WRST-FM, UW Oshkosh’s radio station based on the Oshkosh campus, recently earned honors at the annual College Broadcasters convention held Oct. 26-29 in Baltimore.

UWO was recognized in four categories:

  • WRST won first place for best radio sports play-by-play for the Feb. 16 coverage of a men’s basketball game at UW-Whitewater. The broadcast team was Calvin Leverenz, a junior RTF major from Chilton, and Brady Meyer, a first-year business major from Oshkosh.
  • Andrew Hansen, an Oshkosh native who earned an RTF degree in August, took second place for best station imaging for an image package for the program The Jazz Wire.
  • Miles Schmidt, a junior RTF major from Neenah, also took second place for his work on in the best student media website division.
  • Bryce Holtman, a sophomore RTF major from Oregon, Wisconsin, earned fourth place honors in the best DJ category for his hosting of the alternative music program The Shuffle.

Background: UWO’s non-commercial radio station WRST-FM launched in 1966 and features programs produce by UWO students. It’s found at 90.3 FM and

The University’s RTF program has a vast network of alumni working in countless media roles around the country. The department also earned one of UW System’s highest honors, a Teaching Excellence Award, in 2020.

Learn more: