You are here: Home > Scholarships


The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence is intended to recognize a senior student who

·         Possesses high academic and leadership qualities;

·         Demonstrates a commitment to the ideals of excellence and service to others. 

The criteria for this award include: 

·         Academic performance;

·         University-related service; and

·         Community involvement (excluding athletic participation*). 

The Chancellor’s Award will be presented at the Honors and Awards Ceremony in April.  In addition to the recognition of talents and contributions, the recipient(s) will receive a Chancellor’s Medallion, recognition in the University’s commencement program and an award certificate.

Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to nominate senior students for this recognition.  Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Two important scholarship awards are also given during spring semester that recognize students with qualities and accomplishments that are considered important at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.  Students may apply for the Gladys J. Larson Scholarship Award and must be nominated for the Roger E. Guiles Leadership/Scholarship Award.  The Gladys J. Larson Scholarship Award is for first year students in their second semester (with at least 12 semester hours of credit from UW Oshkosh) with a strong desire to continue their education and who have earned a grade point average of at least 2.9 in their first full-time semester of university studies.  The Roger E. Guiles Leadership/Scholarship Award is given to a student in his/her fourth semester at UW Oshkosh who has completed at least 42 credit hours and has exhibited leadership in student activities, and good scholarship.
The Sister Irene Kohne Scholarship is for full- or part-time students who have completed a minimum of 30 credits.  Students must be Fond du Lac County residents and demonstrate involvement in community service projects, charitable organizations and/or extracurricular activities.

Information regarding each award and appropriate forms can be obtained at the Office of Student Affairs, Dempsey 148.  The deadline for all awards is Friday, February 12th, 2016.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact Amy Rogge, Office of Student Affairs, 424-4000.