Select Page

Julliana (Jules) Banayag

Hometown: Oshkosh, WI
Major: Sociology
Emphasis: Organization, Community, and Environment
Certificate: Social Equity and Diversity

Why sociology? I chose Sociology as my major after two and a half years of not feeling confident in what I wanted to do in life, but I knew I wanted to help people. When I took Sociology 101, I immediately became enthralled in the ways in which society functions: How we humans have gotten to this specific point in
time, how the issues that we have created continue to impact society today such as systemic racism and global warming, the intricate intersections of many social issues, and how we can better understand and address them. As I have been observing, learning, and understanding the social atmospheres and environments while growing up, I’ve developed a sense of responsibility to challenge issues affecting large groups of people that prevent them from receiving equitable attention and support. One of the biggest key things I’ve gotten out is being able to recognize social and cultural boundaries. Some other key things involve being able to have a wider lens of perspective on social situations. As well as being able to look deeper into the causes behind social roles, situations, and relationships.

What are some of the key things that you got out of the major? The key things that I have gotten out of this major include further developing my ability to critically think in the academic setting, as well as outside of class; further developing my ability to convey information through written and oral communication; strengthen my ability to understand and
cooperate with diverse groups of people; and the great relationships that I have created with the students and professors in the Social Science departments.

What other activities have you been involved in? Other activities that I have been involved in is being a member on the City of Oshkosh’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, I’m currently the Vice President of the Sociology Club, both a Writing Coach and Peer Tutor at The Student Success Center, and a Research Specialist at The Whitburn Center for Governance and Policy Research. Off campus activities include going out to have fun with
my friends, and spending quality time with my family!

What are some of your interests? Other interests I have include exploring outside and taking excursions with friends, different kinds of music (with R&B, soul, rap, punk, and classic rock as examples), being physically active, and learning about new things, particularly about my ethnic heritage

What are my plans for the future? After I graduate I plan to work for a few years and go to graduate school for a masters degree, hopefully get into a doctoral program within the social sciences, and serve the community in one way or another. I also aspire to travel the world and visit my home country of The Philippines, as I have not been back since before I moved to America at 4 and a half years old.