Sent by Chancellor Andrew Leavitt May 17, 2019:

Dear University Community,

After reviewing the findings of a multi-phase research project and considering other external factors, the Naming Work Group has made a recommendation to move forward with a single, unified UW Oshkosh brand, with a designation to specify each community/location.

I would like to thank the work group for their diligence and attention to all of the factors that needed to be considered before providing a recommendation. I have accepted the recommendation, and pending approval of the UW System Board of Regents, the names of our campuses will be:

University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh Campus
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Fond du Lac Campus
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Fox Cities Campus

Based on the research findings, a single unified brand offers the best path forward, allowing us to communicate our greatest strengths as a three-campus institution and to celebrate the distinctiveness of each campus.

The working group, as part of its charge, also assessed market factors in the region and recommends changing the UW-Fox Valley campus name to “Fox Cities.” This will better encompass the geographic region and differentiate the campus in its service area.

A single brand means many new opportunities, including a shift in creative identity and brand platform. It also means each campus will keep its unique identity.  The new unified brand allows us to tether and provide access to our collective strengths while acknowledging each campus offers different attributes and programs to meet the needs of students and communities.

We will present these names to the Board of Regents at its July meeting. I will continue to communicate updates regarding the creative identity and roll-out plan for the name change as information becomes available.

We look forward to continued conversations on positioning our three-campus University to grow and succeed.

I extend my thanks to the members of the Naming Work Group.

Evan Kreider, Chair, Fox Valley Campus
Darren Brzozowski, Oshkosh Campus
Chad Cotti, Oshkosh Campus
Paisley Harris, Fond du Lac Campus
Tina Koch, Oshkosh Campus; formerly Fox Valley Campus
Laurie Krasin, Fond du Lac and Fox Valley Campuses
Jenni Monroe, Oshkosh Campus
Martin Rudd, Fond du Lac and Fox Valley Campuses
Bethany Rusch, Fond du Lac Campus

– Chancellor Andrew Leavitt