You are here: Home / Bulletins / 2015-2017 (Archives) / Departments and Majors / Journalism / Admission/Graduation Requirements

Admission/Graduation Requirements

A. Admissions Policy

  • Students must meet with a faculty adviser in the Department of Journalism to be signed into most journalism classes. Students must have completed Journalism 141 to be admitted to any 300- or 400-level journalism classes.

B. Grade Point Average Requirements

  • A minimum grade point average of 2.5, based on transcripts from all accredited colleges attended, is required. Students transferring to the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh will be evaluated for grade point average on the same basis as University of Wisconsin Oshkosh continuing students. Students must receive at least a "C" in all prerequisite journalism courses. (This refers to Journalism classes only and does not include courses in other departments to be completed by students majoring or minoring in Journalism.)

C. Unit (cr.) Hour Requirements

  • Journalism majors must complete 39 units (crs.) worth of journalism classes including required courses described in a later section.

  • Journalism minors must complete 24 units (crs.).

  • Journalism Professional Internship (Journalism 427) does not count toward meeting the 39 unit (cr.) minimum.

D. General Education Prerequisites

  • Students should complete WBIS 188 or its equivalent during their freshman or sophomore years.

E. Continuing Student Status

  • Majors may take no more than three journalism courses during any term (excluding interim courses). Minors normally take no more than one upper-level journalism course during a term and no more than two journalism courses during any term. Exceptions may be granted by the chair of the department.

F. Appeals

  • All appeals may be initiated through the chair of the Department of Journalism.

G. Non-Journalism Requirements

  • The Department of Journalism recognizes the standards of and is accredited by the Accrediting Council for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC), which specifies that journalism majors must earn 72 units (crs.) in courses outside of journalism and mass communications. Those standards also provide that 65 of those units (crs.) must be in the liberal arts.

  • Students who declare the major will have the accrediting requirement checked on their degree audit (STAR). The accreditation check is a graduation requirement for journalism majors.

  • In applying the standard, the department will maintain flexibility in order to consider each student's program and interests. Among courses that will not be considered to be outside the journalism and mass communication area are:

    All courses offered by the Department of Journalism

    All courses included in the following lists:

    • Art

      • Art 238 Design I 3 cr.

      • Art 239 Design Fundamentals 3 cr.

      • Art 338 Design II 3 cr.

      • Art 438 Design III 3 cr.

    • Communication

      • Communication 231 Radio-Television Announcing 3 cr.

      • Communication 234 Writing for the Broadcast Media 3 cr.

      • Communication 313 TV Studio Management (2+3) 3 cr.

      • Communication 320 Television Workshop (1+4) 1 cr.

      • Communication 325 Nonverbal Communication 3 cr.

      • Communication 327 Advanced Writing for the Electronic Media 3 cr.

      • Communication 435 Advanced Video Production 3 cr.

      • Communication 437 Radio-TV Station Management 3 cr.

    • English

      • English 317 Technical Writing 3 cr.

    • Radio-TV-Film

      • Radio-TV-Film Radio-Television Advertising 3 cr.
      • Radio-TV-Film Seminar in Radio-TV-Film 1-3 cr.

      • Radio-TV-Film Seminar in Radio-TV-Film 1-3 cr.

Courses in other departments that duplicate the content of courses offered by the Department of Journalism.

Courses taken at other colleges or universities, which resemble the offerings above and for which transfer students may receive Journalism units (crs.). Each such course will be assessed by the chair of the Department of Journalism as if the course were offered at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

Courses that will count toward the 65 units (crs.) in the liberal arts may be taken in the following departments: African American Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Biology and Microbiology, Chemistry, Communication, Economics, English, Environmental Studies, Foreign Languages and Literatures, Geography & Urban Planning, Geology, History, International Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics and Astronomy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs, Religious Studies, Sociology, Theatre and Women's Studies.

While many courses in Communication are considered liberal arts credits, courses in Radio-TV-Film may not count toward the 65 units (crs.) in the liberal arts. The policy is based on a standard of the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication that is designed to ensure the student's journalism degree to be appropriately balanced between liberal education and professional preparation.

Non-journalism internship credits/courses are not considered to be liberal arts credits.

Document Actions

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh — Where Excellence and Opportunity Meet.