Scholarships and Fellowships

2018 Community Health Education Memorial Scholarship Award

The MPA student, Brenna Root, has been chosen to receive the Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards 2018 Community Health Education Scholarship award for her contributions to Public Health in Wisconsin. The award will be presented to Brenna Root at the 2018 Annual Public Health Conference, which theme is “Leading the Evolution of Public Health”, in Green Bay, Wisconsin, on Wednesday, May 23. 

2018 Coulee Region Professional Women Scholarship

The MPA student, Jill Grennan, is the Recipient of Coulee Region Professional Women Scholarship. The Mission of Coulee Region Professional Women (CPRW) is to promote the professional, educational, cultural, and social advancement of all women. Members with diverse backgrounds join together to provide opportunities for women to grow personally and professionally through education, leadership training, and networking support. As a previous (2017) scholarship recipient Jill Grennan continues to be a strong representation of what CRPW stands for. Congratulations!

2017 Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarship

The MPA student, Lawrence Rabon, was awarded with the Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarship by the American College of Healthcare Executives, July 19, 2017. The scholarship is designated for students enrolled in their final year of healthcare management program. The scholarship is worth $5,000. 

2016 Government Finance Professional Development Scholarship

The MPA student, Ms. Kaye Matucheski, has been selected as one of the 2016 recipients of the Government Finance Officers Association’s Government Finance Professional Development Scholarship. This Scholarship was established by the Association to recognize outstanding performance in graduate public finance programs and to encourage careers in government. The Committee was impressed with Ms. Matucheski’s academic achievements and her course concentration at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh. The Committee noted that, “Her desire to dedicate her many talents to work in government is to be commended.” The $8,000 Scholarship award will be presented to Ms. Matucheski at the Government Finance Officers Association’s 110th Annual Conference in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, May 22-25, 2016.

2014 Government Finance Professional Development Scholarship

The MPA student, John Jacobs, was the winner of the Government Finance Officer’s Association (GFOA) 2014 Government Finance Professional Development Scholarship competition. He accepted the $6000 award during the GFOA’s Annual Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota, May 18-21, 2014. 

2014 Presidential Management Fellowship

John Good, who graduated from the MPA program in the Summer of 2014, was selected as a Finalist for the Presidential Management Fellowship (PMF) (  Bearing the Presidential moniker, the PMF Program is a flagship leadership development program at the entry level for advanced degree candidates.  For more than 30 years, the PMF Program has helped Federal agencies meet their succession planning needs by providing the next generation of Great Leaders for Great Government. Out of nearly 7,000 graduate students who applied to the fellowship, only 1,200 were selected as Semi-Finalists.  These Semi-Finalists were then brought out to Washington D.C. in January of 2014 to complete a 5-hour in person assessment.  Out of the 1,200 Semi-Finalists, approximately 600 were chosen as Finalists to the Presidential Management Fellowship Class of 2014.  John Good was notified of his selection as a Finalist in April 2014. Mr. Good has secured a 2-year fellowship with a Federal agency in Green Bay. Congratulations!

2012 and 2013 AAUW Graduate Scholarship for Women

“Sponsored by The Oshkosh Branch, American Association of University Women*, the American Association of University Women (AAUW) Graduate Scholarship for Women has been awarded annually to a UW Oshkosh female graduate student since 1966… The recipient receives an $1000 cash award in the fall semester, and a one-year membership in AAUW at the time of her graduation.  The award is not renewable.” Two MPA students have recently won the Scholarship: Nana Coleman and Jennifer Keiser.

 2013 AAUW Recipient: Nana Coleman (L)    

2012 AAUW Recipient: Jennifer Keiser 

  2012-2013 Emerging Leader Scholarship

Awarded to up to 20 members per year, the Emerging Leader Scholarship is intended to recognize and reward demonstrated leadership ability and accomplishment, and is issued by the National Society of Leadership and Success. Scholarships are awarded twice per year, with funds ($1,000) distributed directly to the academic institution to apply against tuition and fees.

The MPA student, Nana Adjoa Coleman, was the only UWO student to win the 2012-2013 Emerging Leader Scholarship (see all recent winners here). Congratulations!


Public Administration

Sage Hall 3003 and 3464
Oshkosh, WI 54901



Social Media




Contact Us

Phone: (920) 424-2030
Program Coordinator:
Dr. Michael Ford |
Hours: 7:30am - 3:30pm