Select Page

Wisconsin Alliance for Composers 2020 Student Composition Contest Results

The Wisconsin Alliance for Composers (WAC) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to support and promote the composition and performance of new music in Wisconsin. Each year, WAC holds a Student Composition Contest to celebrate the creativity and musicianship of our outstanding student composers. We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Student Composition Contest below. Enjoy recordings of these fantastic compositions below, and congratulations to all of the winners, honorable mentions, and participants!

Curious about the UW Oshkosh Department of Music? Learn more here!

Elementary School

Middle School

High School


Elementary School Category

First Prize: “The Crazy Giant”

Payten Hutter (Chippewa Falls) 

Honorable Mention: “Stormy And Sunny”

James Currier (Pewaukee) 

Honorable Mention: “Battleship”

Christopher Nelson (Keil) 

Honorable Mention: “Silent Wind”

Finley Paterson (Delafield) 

Middle School Category

First Prize: “Luna”

Angelina Vu (Oshkosh) 

Honorable Mention: “B-13’s Blight”

Owen Kwiatkowski (Osseo) 

High School Category

First Prize: “Waiting in the Woods”

Caleb Endres (Oak Creek) 

Honorable Mention: “Aero Plane”

Noah Durlam (Germantown) 

Honorable Mention: “Exploring”

Nora Otte (Fond du Lac) 

Undergraduate Category

First Prize: “Yellowed Fan”

Joe Vande Hey (UW Oshkosh) 

Honorable Mention: “F.M.R.L.”

Benjamin Portzen (Lawrence University) 

Honorable Mention: “Waltz of the Nine”

Gavin Roberts (UW Oshkosh) 

Music Department

(920) 424-4224

Arts & Communication Center
800 Algoma Blvd.
Oshkosh, WI 54901

(920) 424-4224
Arts & Communication Center

800 Algoma Blvd.
Oshkosh, WI 54901