Personal tools
You are here: Home > Resources & Opportunities > Scholarships


The Mathematics Department gives an average of $2000 each year in scholarships to outstanding mathematics students.  These scholarships are made possible through the following four endowed funds, each in memory and honoring a former mathematics faculty member. These funds are:

  • Harvey C. McKenzie Math Fund
  • Robert Prielipp Memorial
  • Radford Boeing Math Scholarship
  • Robert Wonders Endowment

If you are interested in giving a gift to support one of these scholarship programs, please visit our Give a Gift page.

The scholarships awarded include the Senior Award, the Sophomore Award, and the Excellence in Mathematics Award.


Senior Award

This award is given to one or more outstanding senior mathematics major students, based on academic performance. Recent Senior Award recipients include:

Harvey C. McKenzie Math Fund

Tyler Skorczewski 2004
Bradley VanDongen 2004
Joel Soden 2005
Scott Tingo 2007
Anthony Diercks 2009
Liem Nguyen 2010
Amanda Baxter 2011
John Dewitt 2013
Shannon Fehrenbach 2014


Robert Wonders Endowment

Craig Konkle 2004
Loribeth Golner 2005
Michael Hahn 2006
Leah Betz 2008


Robert Prielipp Memorial

Adam Bremberger 2006
Teri Schwamb 2007
Sara O'Connell 2012


Excellence in Mathematics Award

This award is given to the most outstanding mathematics major or minor student in the professional education program for elementary, middle, or secondary teaching.  RecentExcellence in Mathematics Award recipients include:

Robert Wonders Endowment

Sarah Roth 2013
Elizabeth Geilfuss 2014


Sophomore Award

This award is given to the most outstanding Sophomore, based on performance on the annual calculus exam.  Recent Sophomore Award recipients include:

Harvey C. McKenzie Math Fund

Angela Nichols 2004
Yanjun Chen 2004
Dale Skaer 2005
Samuel Mark 2006
Sarah Monette 2006
Liem Nguyen 2008
Katelyne Stienen 2012
Taylor Rydahl 2013
Daniel Christensen 2014


Robert Prielipp Memorial

Cole Edwards 2005
Danielle Nabbefeld 2009


Radford Boeing Math Scholarship

Aaron Stroede 2010
Sarah Roth 2011


Other Scholarship Opportunties:

The mathematics department reimburses math majors for the cost of actuarial exams that have been passed.

Entering freshman enrolled as full-time undergraduate students at UW Oshkosh and taking a mathematics course at or above the level of Calculus are eligible to win the American High School Mathematics Examination (AHSME) Prize Scholarship. The recipient must be among the top scorers in Wisconsin on the AHSME or the Mathematical Association of America Section Exam. For more information on this scholarship contact K.L.D. Gunawardena at the math department.


by Kuennen, Eric W last modified Jan 28, 2015 07:50 PM


Intranet CTA