Select Page


Dr. David “Doc” Lippert founds the Department of Journalism in the College of Letters and Science at the Wisconsin State University of Oshkosh to train news reporters. The Oshkosh Advance, the student newspaper that Lippert renames as the Oshkosh Advance-Titan, and the Quiver, the student yearbook, operate out of the “White House,” which today is a parking lot next to the Multicultural Education Center. In 1969, the first four journalism students graduate: Eileen Hammer, David Hawk, Philip Meyer and Steve Van Vuren.

Go Back