Personal tools
You are here: Home > Designate Your Gift > Scholarships > Qualities Recognized by Scholarships

Qualities Recognized by Scholarships

Academic Excellence: The Bowman Scholarship was established by the late Max Bowman, professor emeritus in chemistry, in memory of his parents, Earl and Alpha Bowman. It is awarded to science students with a strong academic record. In order to encourage diversity in the sciences, preference is given to women and students of color.

Artistic Creativity: The Mark Gruenwald Scholarship for the Arts is awarded to students engaged in a substantial interdisciplinary arts project. It was established in memory of a 1976 alumnus and 1987 Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipient. At the time of his death in 1996, Gruenwald was Chief Executive Editor of Marvel Comics.

Diversity: The Diversity in Journalism Scholarship was created by faculty member Mike Cowling to encourage students of color to pursue a career in journalism. The scholarship is awarded to entering freshmen or new transfer students with a declared journalism major and a history of participation in high school news media.

Leadership: The John E. Kerrigan Scholarships, established in 2000 at the time of Kerrigan's retirement as ninth Chancellor of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, honor his efforts to provide students with the resources they need to succeed. Scholarships are awarded annually to sophomores who show academic achievement and leadership.

Perseverance: Due to family circumstances and the lack of educational opportunities available to women at the time, Agnes Drexler Kujawa was unable to pursue a college education. Her family established the Agnes Drexler Kujawa Memorial Scholarship for Single Parents in her memory to make it possible for other students with family responsibilities to obtain an education so they may prepare themselves for employment opportunities that will allow them to better provide for themselves and their children.

Self-reliance: Dennis V. Detry was the Associate Director of Financial Aid at UW Oshkosh for twenty years until his death in 2000. He particularly enjoyed interacting with and mentoring the student-workers in the Financial Aid Office. His family has created the Dennis V. Detry Student-Employee Scholarship to assist students with financial need who have shown outstanding commitment to their work in the Financial Aid Office.

Service: The Stephanie M. Honer and Martin H. Egan Scholarship was created in memory of two students who tragically lost their lives in a house fire on New Years Day 1997. The scholarship honoring them recognizes their extensive volunteer commitment by assisting education students who demonstrate involvement in community service projects, charitable organizations and/or extracurricular activities directly related to serving others.

Tradition: The Philip and Jean Nelson Alumni Scholarship was established in 1991 in recognition of Jean Goodwin Nelson '49, who served as UW Oshkosh Alumni Director from 1968-1991, and her husband, the late Philip Nelson, a long-time University friend and advocate. It is awarded to incoming freshmen whose parent or grandparent is a graduate of UW Oshkosh.

Writing Ability: The Nevin S. James Writing Awards honor the late professor of English who taught at UW Oshkosh for 44 years. The awards recognize writing skill in students enrolled in a Theme-Based Seminar.

by reinecka — last modified Jan 30, 2017 11:25 AM

Contact the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Foundation
625 Pearl Ave. Oshkosh, WI 54901 • Email:
Phone: (920) 424-2178