Personal tools
You are here: Home > About > Foundation Honor Roll > Foundation President's Message

Foundation President's Message

Greetings from the Foundation


As many of you know, the relationships and exchange of ideas between students and faculty epitomize the college experience. The caliber of these two groups also can define the reputation of a university.

The Foundation is fortunate that many faculty and former students continued their pivotal role in the University's success by investing in UW Oshkosh during 2013.

Several new funds were established by or in honor of faculty members. The Dr. Madhu N. Mahadeva Memorial Scholarship assists high-achieving women with a commitment to a career in the sciences. Mahadeva was a biology professor at UWO for more than 20 years.

Retired College of Nursing professor Nancy Elsberry created a scholarship for graduate nursing students preparing to become family nurse practitioners. Don Martin, retired sociology professor, established a kinesiology scholarship in appreciation for the students and faculty he worked with while participating in the Healthy Titans program. An anonymous alumnus honored former geology professors Norris Jones and Gene LaBerge with the Jones/LaBerge Geology Field Trip Fund, which subsidizes student travel expenses.

Alumni created the Dave Studinski Scholarship, Gender Diversity in Computer Science Scholarship (Eric Schultz), James H. Fischer Family Endowed Scholarship and the Mersberger Financial Group Fund. Alumnus William Haidlinger '58, passed away last year, leaving a bequest of nearly $470,000 to his alma mater for science scholarships. His estate gift pushed 2013 alumni contributions over the $1 million mark. Non-bequest alumni giving last year exceeded $595,000, an increase of more than 27 percent compared with 2012.

As long as students and faculty find their association with UW Oshkosh to be fulfilling and rewarding, they will commit to maintaining and enhancing what is accomplished here.

It is through the support of contributors—like the 4,777 donors in 2013—that the Foundation is able to offer the campus community opportunities to strengthen their relationship with the University. To those whose gifts helped us grow and move forward, I thank you so much for your support.

Arthur H. Rathjen

Foundation President

by sebenl99 — last modified Jun 10, 2014 02:18 PM

Contact the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Foundation
625 Pearl Ave. Oshkosh, WI 54901 • Email:
Phone: (920) 424-2178 • Fax: (920) 424-7116