Select Page

Contact Us

UW Oshkosh Communication Studies
Phone: (920) 424-4427
Location: Arts & Communication
Center, Room S123/S127


Joseph B. Laine Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies Award

Each spring, one graduating senior is selected for this award.

Joseph B. Laine, who passed away in 2013 at the age of 88, earned his Ph.D. at Northwestern University.  He joined the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s Communication Department in 1962, serving as professor and chair for 26 years after previously serving as an instructor at the University of South Dakota and instructor and debate coach at Marquette University.  He retired from UW Oshkosh in 1989.

Laine was a long-serving and dedicated faculty member in the UW Oshkosh Department of Communication.  As the number and variety of communication degrees grew under his tenure as “Speech Department” chair in the 1960s and 1970s, so did the services provided through special hearing clinics within the department — clinics that annually served hundreds of Wisconsin residents, including referrals from physicians and UW-Madison and UW-Milwaukee, according to archival records.  He also served as a president of the Wisconsin Speech Communication Association.

In his honor, the “Joseph B. Laine Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies Award” recognizes “Communication Studies majors with senior standing who have accrued an overall minimum GPA of 3.0” and who have achieved “academic excellence, involvement in extracurricular activities (with primary emphasis on communication-related activities) and demonstrated leadership.”

Laine himself was an active community volunteer, donating his time and talents to several charitable organizations in the Oshkosh area.

Year AwardedRecipient(s)
2021-22Natalie Reinholtz
2020-21Gabrielle Newman
2019-20Rachel Ryan
2018-19Kayla Ammon
2017-18Addison Powles
2016-17Emily Rapp
Gina Catalano
2015-16Joanna Wavrunek
2014-15April Delfosse
Baylei Schmit
2013-14Heather Smith
Jessica Borucki
2012-13Julie Gallagher
2011-12Quincey Davidson
Bridget Isnardi
2010-11Chelsea Sievert
Natalee Kasmiskie
2009-10Kathryn Gruber
2008-09Kira-Lynn Reeves
2007-08Katelyn Reitz
Shervin Fathi
2006-07Angela Hensel
Laura Stark
2005-06J.B. Windle
2004-05Christopher Nadolny
Jennifer Caswell
2003-04Michelle K. Lippart
2002-03Carl Schapp
2001-02Tanya Jesunas
1998-99Andrea Swiney
1997-98Dave Torbenson
Todd Simonis
1996-97Bethany Brightman
1995-96Mark Habeck
Jessica Desch
1994-95Lori Zivkovich
Michelle Kuhn
1992-93Melissa Stein
1991-92Nola Koshak
1990-91Margaret Laskowski
1989-90JoAnn Christensen
1988-89Gregory Books