Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home / Accounting / Certifications

Professional Examinations

CMA Certification

Professional recognition as a management accountant can be obtained by passing the examination required for the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) Certification.

The CMA exam consists of two parts:

  • Financial Planning, Performance and Control
  • Financial Decision Making

Students are eligible to apply to take the CMA exam during their (graduating) senior semester, and are also eligible to receive a 50 percent discount on the exam fee.

Resources for Students: 
IMA student page:
CMA – Getting Started:

CPA Certification

Under Wisconsin state law, any individual who practices public accounting, including auditing financial accounting records and preparing of accounting reports which are made public, must be licensed as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA). In Wisconsin, to sit for the exam the candidate must have 120 semester hours of education and an accounting concentration.

The CPA exam has four sections:

  • Auditing and Attestation (AUD)
  • Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)
  • Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)
  • Regulation (REG)

Wisconsin also has a three-year practice requirement which must be met before a certificate is granted. This experience must include 1 1/2 years at a level where an individual is responsible for independent decisions. To be licensed in the State of Wisconsin, 150 semester credits are also required.