Select Page

Jim Dykstra, ’68, and Jim VandeHei, ’95, hosted an alumni reception April 29 at the National Press Club (NPC) in Washington, D.C.

Dykstra, principal at Edington, Peel & Associates, Inc., has more than three decades of experience in senior positions on Capitol Hill, in the Executive Branch, and in the private sector.

VandeHei is a political reporter and co-founder of The Politico. He has served as political reporter for the Washington Post, where he worked as White House correspondent.

Dykstra’s friend, Gil Klein, entertained the group with a history of the NPC. Klein, a veteran national correspondent, past NPC president and author of the NPC’s centennial history, “Reliable Sources: 100 Years at the National Press Club,” is the NPC Centennial Project director.

Alumni and friends enjoyed hors d’oeuvres and UW Oshkosh giveaways, and heard a brief update on UW Oshkosh. A slide show of recent UW Oshkosh campus photographs offered alumni an update on significant campus improvements and additions, such as the Student Recreation and Wellness Center.

“It was great having the opportunity to visit with fellow alumni, sharing stories of what brought us to DC and reminiscing about our time on campus,” said Dykstra, who noted attendees ranged from recent graduates to Dorothy Hastings Wurz ’43, who received the distinguished alumni award in 1984.

Alumni in attendance plan to begin an occasional, informal UW Oshkosh alumni gathering. If you live in the DC area and would like to be added to the e-mail invitation list, please contact the Alumni Relations Office.

For more information on upcoming UW Oshkosh alumni events and receptions, visit the online alumni calendar or contact the Alumni Relations Office at or (877) UWO-ALUM.
Pictured, top left: Jim VandeHei ’95, Susan Neitzel ’92 and Jim Dykstra ’68

Top right: Gil Klein

Second left: Gil Klein, Jim Dykstra and Jim VandeHei

Second right: Manny DeVera ’70, Brian Rettman ’97, Tim Ward ’70, Randy Hennig ’79 and  Tom Sippel ’68

Third left: Don Mueller ’69 and Phil Rivers ’75

Third right: Elsa Faust ’03, Ingrid Bechard and Jim Dykstra

Bottom: Jim VandeHei, Dorothy Hastings Wurz ’43 and Greg Wurz