Select Page

The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) has named UW Oshkosh men’s soccer coach Wytse Molenaar as its 2010 NSCAA/Mondo NCAA Division III North Region Coach of the Year.

Molenaar, who replaced Toby Bares as UW Oshkosh’s head coach last spring, guided the Titans to a 20-1-3 record and a berth in the semifinal round of the 60-team NCAA Division III Championship in 2010. UW Oshkosh, which shared the WIAC title with UW-Whitewater, finished the season ranked third in the country by both and the NSCAA.

UW Oshkosh won its first two matches of the 2010 season before playing to a 1-1 tie with Carthage College. The Titans then reeled off 11 straight victories before battling to a 1-1 tie with Concordia University Wisconsin. UW Oshkosh strung three more wins together before playing to a 1-1 tie with UW-Whitewater in the regular season finale.

UW Oshkosh’s NCAA postseason journey began with a 2-1 overtime victory over Carroll University. The Titans then posted wins of 2-0 over both North Park University (Ill.) and Loras College (Iowa) and 1-0 over Calvin College (Mich.) to advance to their fourth Final Four. UW Oshkosh fell from the unbeaten ranks when eventual national champion Messiah College (Pa.) defeated the Titans, 4-1 in the semifinals.

UW Oshkosh outscored its opponents during the 2010 season by a 62-9 count. The Titans recorded a school-record 18 shutouts, including eight in a row from Sept. 8 to Oct. 1. UW Oshkosh ranked second in the NCAA Division III in shutout percentage (0.75), third in both goals against average (0.36) and won-lost-tied percentage (0.896) and eighth in goals scored (62).

UW Oshkosh boasted six all-region selections, seven all-conference honorees and one All-American under Molenaar’s tutelage in 2010. The Titans’ Jack Borski, a senior from Madison, was selected as an Academic All-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Molenaar, who was also named the 2010 WIAC Coach of the Year, is now a candidate for National Coach of the Year honors. That award winner will be announced Jan. 14 at the NSCAA Convention in Baltimore, Md.

Other Region Coach of the Year selections were Joe Clarke of Washington University (Mo.) in the Central, Bob Durocher of St. Lawrence University (N.Y.) in the East, Jay Martin of Ohio Wesleyan University in the Great Lakes, Brad McCarty of Messiah College in the Middle Atlantic, Fran O’Leary of Bowdoin College (Maine) in the New England, Chris Yeager of Lynchburg College (Va.) in the South Atlantic and Paul McGinlay of Trinity University (Texas) in the West.

Kennan Timm, athletics, submitted this announcement. Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today.