Select Page

The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) has named University of Wisconsin Oshkosh student Sarah Schettle as its 2008 winner of the Judy Kruckman Women’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete Award.

Schettle is majoring in chemistry and Spanish with an emphasis in biochemistry and boasts a 3.90 cumulative grade point average. She is a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll and has been named to UW Oshkosh’s Dean’s List numerous semesters. In 2007, she was named the WIAC Judy Kruckman Women’s Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete.

Schettle has received various academic scholarships, including the Ronald Reagan College Leaders Scholarship, Kimberly Clark Bright Future Scholarship, the UW Oshkosh Foundation Scholarship and John E. Kerrigan Scholarship. In 2006, she was one of two nationwide recipients of the NCAA Division III Sportsmanship Award from the NCAA Committee on Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct.

A team captain in 2006, she earned the Titans’ Most Valuable Award that same season and was named her team’s Most Improved in 2004 and Most Dedicated in 2005. In addition, Schettle has claimed 12 medals at the WIAC Championship and is a four-time letterwinner on UW Oshkosh’s indoor and outdoor women’s track and field teams.

Schettle is involved in many campus activities and organizations, including No Limits Support Association, Student Alumni Ambassadors (Vice-President), University Honors Program, Athletes in Action, Biology Club (President) and the Optimist Club. She has volunteered with the Winnebago County Republican Party and was a leader of College Republicans at UW-Oshkosh. In the community, she volunteers in blood drives and for Special Olympics.

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman and sponsored by Hewlett-Packard. Kruckman served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98. Prior to this appointment, she functioned as Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women’s Intercollegiate Athletic Conference from October 1984 until September 1996.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.25 grade point average, be in their last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.