Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Model United Nations team continued its winning tradition Feb. 13-16 at the 48th Annual Midwest Model United Nations Competition in St. Louis, winning more awards than any other university.

UW Oshkosh students won one of three Outstanding Delegation Awards in the General Assembly as well as one of three General Assembly Honorable Mentions, five committee awards and two Delegates’ Choice Awards.

According to Kenneth J. Grieb, coordinator of International Studies and faculty adviser to the Model United Nations Organization, UW Oshkosh students demonstrated the ability to accurately represent nations with drastically different viewpoints encompassing all major regions of the world.

Based on their superior knowledge of the issues, accuracy of representing national foreign policy, diplomacy and negotiation skills for consensus support, and writing and speaking skills, the General Assembly’s Outstanding Delegation Award was won by UW Oshkosh students Robert Reeves IV, head delegate; Brandon Strand; Jennifer LaBorde; and Steven C. Koplitz for their representation of Germany.

Earning honorable mention in the General Assembly for their representation of India was Carolyn Kirchhoff, head delegate; Corey Edwards; Brenna Ranzen; and Kayleigh Benson.

UW Oshkosh also represented Argentina, Benin, Cote d’Ivoire and the United Arab Emirates at the competition.

Individually, two UW Oshkosh students received both Outstanding Delegate Awards and Delegates’ Choice Awards, which were determined by vote of the delegates in their committees. Winners included: Kirchhoff who represented India in the Economic and Financial Committee and Reeves who spoke for Germany in the Social Cultural and Humanitarian Committee.

Three other UW Oshkosh students also won Outstanding Delegate Awards in their committees. Winners included: LaBorde who represented Germany in the Political Committee, Edwards for India’s Disarmament Committee, and Ranzen for India’s Social, Cultural and Humanitarian Committee.
UW Oshkosh students receiving Honorable Mentions included: Strand representing Germany in the Disarmament Committee, Matthew T. Kitzman representing Argentina in the Political Committee, and Benson representing India in the Political Committee.

For the past 20 years, the UW Oshkosh Model UN team has won an average of two Outstanding Delegation awards at this Midwest competition, which features more than 800 students from 54 universities across 15 states.