Select Page

The following Class Notes were received recently in the UW Oshkosh Alumni Office.

’68 William Heins (BS) and ’76 (MSE), of Winchester, is active in Lion’s Club and has six new grandchildren.

’72 Samuel Cargile (BS) and ’73 (MSE), of Belton, South Carolina, retired after 15 years as vice president and senior adviser to the chief executive officer of the Lumina Foundation.  He is relocating to Cape Town, South Africa.

’75 Janice (Ahrens) John (BS), of Beaverton, Oregon, was the keynote speaker for the annual Women of Kaiser Permanente Breakfast in 2016.  Her address was “Resilience: A Year-long Journey through Breast Cancer.”

’75 Gary Beyer (BBA) and ’80 (MBA), of Oshkosh, has released his third book, When the Time is Right. In 2008, he was diagnosed with Inclusion Body Myositis (IBM), a rare muscle disease with no cure.

’76 Craig Cady (BS) and ’87 (MS), of Lincoln, Illinois, director of the stem cell research lab and co-director of the neuroscience minor program at Bradley University, presented ovarian cancer stem cell research to the Pacific Association of Pediatric Surgeons in May.

’79 Robert Fale (BSN), of Fond du Lac, is interim president of Silver Lake College.

’79 Joseph Johnson Jr. (BS), of San Diego, California, is the College of Education dean at San Diego State University.  His new book, Leadership in American’s Best Urban Schools, describes findings from 117 outstanding urban schools.

’80 John Rocheleau (BS) and ’96 (MPA), of Green Bay, retired in March after a 37-year career in healthcare.

’85 Sandra (Wilfrath) Hoefert (BS), of Milwaukee, is the deputy director for the Washington County Human Services Department.

’86 Michael Karns (BFA), of Lakehead, California, founded Boundary Waters Screen Printing in Redding, California, in 2011. He is a full-time artist doing logo design.

’90 Trevy McDonald (BA), of Durham, North Carolina, is the 2017 recipient of the David Brinkley Teaching Excellence Award at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Media and Journalism, where she is an assistant professor.

’92 Tamara (Cook) Dever (BFA), of Austin, Texas, is the owner and creative director of TLC Graphics. Her company received three national awards for their publishing guide and journal, My Publishing Journey.

’92 Denise Martinez (MSE), of Ripon, the operations leader for Financial and Information Services Inc. (FISC), completed the Nonprofit Leadership Initiative through the Leadership Institute of the Fox Valley.

’95 Joseph Metzen (BFA), of Manitowoc, has joined the board of directors of Shady Lane Inc. He is the associate executive director of the Manitowoc-Two Rivers YMCA.

’01 Ryan Valentine (BBA), of Neenah, was promoted to vice president and chief financial officer of Fiduciary Partners Inc.

’02 Corey Baumgartner (BSE) and ’05 (MS), of Kaukauna, former principal at Kiel High School, was the school’s 2017 commencement speaker.  He currently serves as the high school principal at Kaukauna.

’02 Adam Piette (BBA), of Appleton, is a commercial lines underwriting manager at Integrity Insurance.

’04 Cynthia Pressnell (BSN), of Fitchburg, has traveled to Bolivia, Haiti and Thailand  on medical missions.

’05 Allison (Dobie) Berryman (BME), of Vail, Arizona, is a stay-at-home mom who is homeschooling her second grader.

’05 Heidi Faris (BS), of Oakdale, Minnesota, has been working in the environmental education field, spending 10 years in zoos.  Recently, she transitioned to teaching early childhood in a nature preschool.

’06 Rosangela Berbert (MSE), of Oshkosh, is the executive director of Samaritan Counseling Center of the Fox Valley. She completed the Nonprofit Leadership Initiative through the Leadership Institute of the Fox Valley.

’10 Joel Stadler (MBA), of Neenah, is a manager at Schenck SC in Appleton.

’12 Aaron Robinson (BS), of Winneconne, graduated from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health with a doctor of medicine and master of public health degrees with a focus on emergency medicine.

’13 Scott Mittelstadt (MPA), of Mayville, is the new operations captain for the Dodge County Sheriff’s Office.

’13 Samantha Stauber Schmelling (MBA), of Rhinelander, is the accounting manager at Volm Companies in Antigo and was the guest speaker at Laona High School’s graduation.

’14 Charlene Reierson (BSN), of Oshkosh, a special care nursery nurse at Mercy Medical Center, had her first child last December.

’14 Elizabeth Rothe (BA, BSN), of Green Bay, is a registered nurse at St. Mary’s Hospital.  She met some of her best friends at UWO.

’14 Matthew Wolfert (BSE), of Grand Chute, joined the Peace Corps and volunteered in South Africa for 27 months after graduation.  He taught English and math to children grades four through nine.

’15 Cassandra Trott (BSE), of Random Lake, is a special education teacher at Random Lake Middle School.

’16 Elizabeth Duffey (BA), of McFarland, is a hot dogger, one of 12 college graduates who drive six Oscar Mayer Wienermobiles across the United States for a one-year term. She has traveled to 28 states.

josh hopfensperger in Fiji’16 Joshua Hopfensperger (BSE), of Appleton, teamed with Global Vision International to arrange a three-month volunteer project in Fiji to rebuild the Village of Silana after Cyclone Winston.

’16 Amanda Naukkari (BS), of Waukesha, joined the Hartford Police Department.

’16 Bryan Resch (BS), of Neenah, is a police officer at the Mequon Police Department.

’17 Matthew Peat (BBA), of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, is a human resource associate with Georgia-Pacific Corporation.

’17 Darryl Thornton (BS), of Oshkosh, is a patrol officer for the Beloit Police Department.


• AAS — Associate of Arts and Science Degree
• B — Business
• EHS — Education and Human Services
• LLCE  — Lifelong Learning and Community Engagement
• LS — Letters and Science
• N — Nursing

• DNP — Doctor of Nursing Practice
• GMBA — Global Master of Business Administration
• MA — Master of Arts
• MBA— Master of Business Administration
• MPA — Master of Public Administration
• MS — Master of Science
• MSE — Master of Science in Education
• MSN — Master of Science in Nursing
• MST — Master of Science in Teaching
• MSW — Master of Social Work

Send items for future Class Notes.