Select Page

The following Class Notes were received recently in the UW Oshkosh Alumni Office.

’69 Robert Keller (BS), of Kaukauna, J. J. Keller and Associates Inc. chairman and  J. J. Keller Foundation Inc. president, will be inducted to the Neenah Joint School District Hall of Fame in September.

’72 Richard Schroeder (BS), of Phoenix, Arizona, is a major league baseball scout for the Texas Rangers. He recently served as toastmaster of the Waterloo High School alumni banquet.

’76 and ’77 Christine (Dieck) Hillegas (BS), of Neenah, retired from her career in clinical laboratory science and recently volunteered with From Houses to Homes in Guatemala.

’76 Jim Rath (BS), of Sherwood, retired as village president of Sherwood.


Richard Van Dyke

’76 Richard Van Dyke (BS), of Cincinnati, Ohio, was honored as a foundation fellow in March at the Music Teachers National Association Conference in Maryland.

’82 Andy Hopfensperger (BS), of Clintonville, retired in April from the Clintonville Police Department, after serving the city for nearly 32 years.

’87 Mike Heller (BS), of Waunakee, hosts his own sports talk show, the Mike Heller Show. It airs on iHeartRadio’s The Big 1070.

’88 Kristofor Brown (BS), of Los Angeles, California, is a successful screenwriter, producer and director. He was the voice director, head writer and co-producer for MTV’s “Beavis and Butthead.” Most recently he was an executive producer and a director for five episodes of the Disney XD show “Kirby Buckets.”

’91 Jacqueline (Dier) Toepfer (MBA), of Chicago, Illinois,  a senior product manager of iManage, married Capt. Kurt Bullard in January.

’92 Mary Downs (MS) and 94 MSE, of Appleton, executive director of the Fox Valley Technical College Foundation, received the Janet Berry Volunteer of the Year award for exemplary volunteerism that has made the Fox Cities a better place to live.

’93 Lori Kaye Lodes (BS), of DePere, works for the Green Bay Water Utility as communications director.

’96 Jennifer Eisenbart (BA), of Burlington, is the new lifestyles and special section editor for the Daily Jefferson County Union in Fort Akinson.

’96 Tanya Lange (BSE), (’03 MSE), of Appleton, has been named associate principal in the Hortonville Area School District for the 2017-2018 school year.

’97 David McLaren (BA), (’97 BSE), of Antioch, Illinois, will be inducted into the Neenah Joint School District Hall of Fame. He has taught English and coached track and field at Zion-Benton High School in Illinois for 20 years. At UW Oshkosh, he set an NCAA Division III record and won two national titles in shot put.

’02 Michael Reuter (BS), of Janesville, is the executive director of the Rock County Historical Society.

’04 Lee Haugen (BS), of Valencia, California, is a film editor in Los Angeles and recently edited the “Lost City of Z,” which was filmed in Ireland and the rain forests of Columbia.

’04 Jennifer (Calnin) Sommers (BSE), (’10 MSE), of Appleton, was named principal of Lannoye Elementary School in the Pulaski School District.

’08 Thomas Braun (MS), of Manitowoc, works at Acuity’s Corporate Headquarters and has been promoted to general manager of information systems.

’10 Shane Arman (BA), of Chicago, Illinois, is employed at Burns Entertainment & Sports as the senior director of agency relationships and business development.

’10 Michael Chastain (BSN), of Peachtree City, Georgia, graduated from Georgetown University in 2013 with a masters in nurse anesthesia and works as a certified registered nurse anesthetist.

’12 Steven Winker (BA), of West Bend, and wife Kaitlin, love the game of baseball and the Milwaukee Brewers so much that they had Bernie Brewer at their wedding and make Opening Day an annual family tradition.

’13 Scott Mittelstadt (MPA), of Mayville, has been named operations captain for the Dodge County Sheriff’s Department.

’15 Michelle (Murray) Mersberger (BBA), of Waunakee, has been promoted to a producing financial adviser within Mersberger Financial Group Inc.

’16 Miranda Busch (BBA), of Algoma, is a financial representative at Thrivent Financial in Allouez.

’16 Matt Herrbold (BSE), of Waupaca, is a social studies teacher at Tigerton High School.

’16 Joshua Preiss (BBA), of New Berlin, is a research analyst at Mersberger Financial Group and recently obtained his Series 7 and Series 66 securities registration.

’16 Hailey Schunke (BS), of Green Bay, served a 10-month term in the National Civilian Community Corps, based in Denver, Colorado.


• AAS — Associate of Arts and Science Degree
• B — Business
• EHS — Education and Human Services
• LLCE  — Lifelong Learning and Community Engagement
• LS — Letters and Science
• N — Nursing

• DNP — Doctor of Nursing Practice
• GMBA — Global Master of Business Administration
• MA — Master of Arts
• MBA— Master of Business Administration
• MPA — Master of Public Administration
• MS — Master of Science
• MSE — Master of Science in Education
• MSN — Master of Science in Nursing
• MST — Master of Science in Teaching
• MSW — Master of Social Work

Send items for future Class Notes.