Select Page

ModelUNThe University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Model United Nations team once again won more awards than any other university, continuing its winning streak at the 57th annual Midwest Model United Nations Competition in St. Louis.

The competition was held from February 21-25,  and involved more than 500 students from 44 universities in thirteen states representing 65 nations. UW Oshkosh students represented seven nations: Chile, Finland, Italy, Lebanon, Mauritius, the Republic of Korea and Uganda.

In the general assembly, UW Oshkosh students won two Outstanding Delegation Awards and an honorable mention. The winning delegations represented the Republic of Korea and Italy, with the honorable mention going to students representing Lebanon.

UW Oshkosh students also won an amazing eight Outstanding Delegate Awards in the general assembly committees, plus two additional Outstanding Delegate Awards in the Economic and Social Council. In addition, UW Oshkosh delegates received two committee honorable mentions, and eight Outstanding Position Paper Awards.

UW Oshkosh delegates representing the Republic of Korea also scored a rare double sweep, with all four members of the delegation winning Delegate’s Choice Awards, granted by vote of the participating students, as well as Outstanding Delegate Awards.

The ECOSOC awards were won by delegates representing Chile and Uganda. UW Oshkosh also represented Finland and Mauritius at the competition.

“Once again UW Oshkosh students demonstrated the ability to accurately represent the interests and viewpoints of nations from all major regions of the world, “said Kenneth J. Grieb, coordinator of International Studies and faculty adviser to the Model United Nations Organization.

Delegates were judged on their knowledge of the issues, the accuracy of their representation of their nation’s foreign policy, their diplomatic and negotiating skills enabling them to build consensus support, and writing and speaking skills.

The UW Oshkosh students receiving both Outstanding Delegate and Delegates’ Choice Awards representing the Republic of Korea included: Zachary D. Stuebs, Campbellsport, in the Legal Committee; Daniel J. Dennis, Middleton, in the Disarmament Committee; Christopher D. Stočkus, West Salem, in the Economic and Finance Committee; and Valerie A.M. Hagen, Black Wolf, in the Social, Cultural and Humanitarian Committee.

Andria N. Marsh, Neenah, representing Uganda in the Economic and Social Council, also received both Outstanding Delegate and Delegates’ Choice Awards.

Other UW Oshkosh delegates receiving Outstanding Delegate Awards were: Karee J. Orrick, Sister Bay, representing Italy in the Economic and Financial Committee; Colleen V. Huston, Hoffman Estates, Illinois, representing Finland in the Disarmament Committee; Lachlann N. Swanson, Bellville, representing Italy in the Legal Committee; Tabitha A. Engstrom, Crystal Lake, Illinois, representing Chile in the Social Cultural and Humanitarian Committee; and Madeline J. Foord, Oshkosh, representing Chile in the Economic and Social Council.

Honorable mentions were won by Sarah K. Rowley, Port Washington, representing Chile in the Disarmament Committee; and Zachary Q. Vetter, Mayville, representing Mauritius in the Legal Committee.

The award-winning delegation of Republic of Korea, which received an Outstanding Delegation Award in the General Assembly, consisted of: Stuebs, head delegate; Dennis, Stočkus, and Hagen.

Students representing Italy, which also received an Outstanding Delegation Award in the General Assembly, were: Orrick, head delegate; Swanson; Morgan A. Barthen, Menomonie; and Kirby M. Lawlis, Stevens Point.

Members of delegation representing Chile, were: Rowley, head delegate; Engstrom; Foord; Samantha Nelson-Zirzow, Hartland; and Maxwell J. Honzik, Franklin.

Students representing Uganda, were: Stephanie L. Liechty, Oregon, head delegate; Carrie R. Reed, Oshkosh; Luiz Gustavo Caputo Spim, Sorocaba, Brazil; Josey R. Strand, New Berlin; and Marsh.

The delegation of Lebanon consisted of: Matthew R. Clowney, Elkhorn, head delegate; Derek L. Endries, Newton; Zoe S. Dahse, Racine; and Alexander J. Horkman, De Pere.

Finland consisted of: Huston, head delegate, Zachary J. Collins, Oshkosh; Garrett M. Martin, Menasha; and Natalie L. Heidenreich, Germantown.

Members of the delegation representing Mauritius were: Vetter, head delegate, Alexander P. Siebers, Sherwood; Julia R. Steffes, Franklin; and Natalie J. Zimmerman, Waupun.

 Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today.