Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Honorary University Degree Committee is accepting nominations for individuals of exceptional accomplishment and distinction that have made significant contributions to the University, region, state or nation.

Alumni, faculty, staff, students and private citizens are welcome to nominate candidates for a UW Oshkosh honorary degree. Honorary University Degree nomination forms are available online at the “Awards” tab on the UW Oshkosh Academic Affairs website.

Strong consideration is given to those who have a current or past connection to the University, region (Oshkosh and Greater Fox Valley) or State of Wisconsin; are distinguished alumni or display excellence in reflecting the UW Oshkosh’s vision of engaging people and ideas for common good.


The most recent recipient was Stan Mack, superintendent of the Oshkosh Area School District, who was described by Chancellor Andrew Leavitt as a “tireless advocate for K-12 education as well as higher education in the region.” Mack received an honorary doctorate degree at the May 14, 2016, commencement ceremony at UW Oshkosh.

The UW Oshkosh Honorary University Degree Committee recommends candidates to the Chancellor, who, with the UW System President, recommends nominees to the Board of Regents. The Chancellor will submit the nominee(s) to the Board of Regents at the March 9, 2017, meeting.

All nominations and the supporting materials are due to the Provost’s Office by Feb. 8, 2017. Questions may be sent to Sara Pritzl at