Select Page
Model UN 2014

UW Oshkosh Model United Nations students celebration more victories after the 2014 National Model United Nations New York in April (Contributed photo).

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Model United Nations team extended its winning streak to 30 years, by once again winning two Outstanding Delegation Awards at the world’s largest Model UN at UN headquarters in New York. UW Oshkosh represented Malawi and Brunei Darussalam at the 2014 National Model United Nations held from April 13-18.

Both UW Oshkosh delegations were named as Outstanding Delegations, the highest level, also marking the 3rdconsecutive year that UW Oshkosh won two top-level awards. In addition to the team awards, UW Oshkosh delegates won numerous position paper and committee awards.

The week-long 2014 National Model United Nations, the world’s largest Model United Nations, involved over 5,500 student competitors from over 200 universities in 44 countries on six continents. Student delegates debated and negotiated agreements regarding a wide range of current issues and world events from the agenda of the real UN, covering political, economic, and social topics, using the same rooms and facilities in which the global diplomats at the United Nations negotiate agreements on these same issues. The concluding General Assembly was held in the Great Hall at UN Headquarters.

In addition to the delegation awards, UW Oshkosh students in three committees won Delegates’ Choice Awards, by vote of the participating delegates. UW Oshkosh student delegates also received ten position paper awards in the ten committees on which their countries were represented.

Participating students were judged on their diplomatic and negotiating skills, their ability to write legal documents that embody the agreements reached, the accuracy with which they represent their respective nations, their knowledge of global issues, their familiarity with the United Nations system and its procedures, practices, bodies, and committees and their speaking ability.

“For the 30th year, UW Oshkosh students continued their tradition of clearly standing out among their peers from universities throughout the world in their knowledge of international affairs and the diplomatic process, a record demonstrating consistent and long-standing excellence,” said Kenneth J. Grieb, Coordinator of International Studies and Faculty Advisor for the UW Oshkosh Model United Nations Team.

Participating universities included Syracuse, Georgia, Baylor, Amherst, California Polytechnic, Pittsburgh, Idaho, Florida International, the City University of New York, the University of London, the University of California Santa Barbara, the Free University of Berlin, the American University of Cairo, the Catholic University Andres Bello of Ecuador, Imperial College of London, Texas Christian University, the University of Paris, the London School of Economics, Northwestern Polytechnic University of China, Austin College, the Swiss Study Foundation, the London School of Economics, the Frankfort School of Finance and Management of Germany, the College of Europe, and the Associazione Unione of Italy.

The members of the UW Oshkosh delegation representing Malawi were: Alicia J. Speitz, Oshkosh, Head Delegate; Samantha J. Asselin, Sheboygan Falls; Susan M. Asselin, Sheboygan Falls; Thomas E. Demailly, Orsay, France; Daniel J. Dennis, Verona; Jennifer R. Elkins, Sister Bay; Ibrahim T. Guede, Madison; Ryan A. Hackbarth, Oshkosh; Valerie A. M. Hagen, Black Wolf; Caitlin M. Hopper, Waukesha; Katie C. Keelan, Wauwatosa; Nicole A. Lehto, West Bend; Anna C. Lukyanova, Oshkosh; Allison J. Mahnke, Sun Prairie; Mindy B. Medrow, Oshkosh; Chase W. Mitchell, Oshkosh; David M. Sebstead, Oshkosh; Christopher D. Stockus, West Salem; Zachary D. Stuebs, Cambellsport; and Adam P. Wolf, Oshkosh.

The members of the UW Oshkosh delegation representing Brunei Darussalam were: Kyle O. Callen, Waukesha, Head Delegate; Morgan A. Barthen, Menomonie; Kelsey L. Meske, Oshkosh; Anthony L. Montalvo, Oshkosh; Lindsey M. Newhauser, Lomira; A.J. Pflanzer, Oconomowoc; Christina M. Quella, Milwaukee; Blake C. Schlieve, Iron Ridge; Jacob Stuebs, Campbellsport; and Lindsey M. Tyson, Oshkosh.

Learn more: