Select Page


University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Petra Roter was honored with the Oshkosh Area Chamber of Commerce’s Woman of Achievement award on Oct. 28 at the organization’s 106th Annual Meeting and Recognition Program.

The Chamber recognized Roter for excelling “not only in her workplace, but throughout the community” and helping create “great leaders of our future.”

“Petra truly cares about the students on campus and strives to improve their experience in any way possible,” the Chamber announced. “She has been a key player in major changes seen across campus including the (UW Oshkosh) Student Recreation and Wellness Center, the Student Success Center and Horizon Village. Petra has served on the Oshkosh United Way Board for the past five years and started her second term as president in March 2013.”

“I know the women in this community,” Roter said, in accepting the Chamber’s award. “Oshkosh is chocked full of, to use the student vernacular, ‘freaking phenomenal females’ — amazing, intelligent, creative, extraordinary warrior women who ‘bring it’ every day to the community arenas and work passionately to make each front and corner of this community stronger and strive to make Oshkosh a more caring and compassionate community. To be seen as one of those women is a true honor and humbling, and, believe me, humble and me in the same sentence has not been heard until tonight.”

Roter was among several individuals, organizations and businesses honored by the Chamber at its annual meeting. The other award winners include:

Glenn Curran, Alberta Kimball Community Service Award: Glenn has gone above and beyond devoting his time and effort to community service in Oshkosh.  Glenn, along with four other Southwest Rotarians, started Battle on Bago in 2007 as an alternative method to fundraising. This ice fishing event brings thousands of people to the Oshkosh area and has raised nearly $500,000 in 6 years. All the money raised goes towards “Kid’s & Conservation” efforts throughout Wisconsin. Glenn also stays busy with the Boys and Girls Club serving on their board of directors. Glenn is currently Vice President of Commercial Banking at Associated Bank.

David Albrecht, Horizon Award:  David is focused on making Winnebago County a better place to live. David is currently the Chairman of the Winnebago County Board. Since David’s involvement started in 1986, he helped Winnebago County be recognized nationally and state-wide for being able to support operations without county tax sales. It was because of David’s leadership and commitment that helped bring an aviation business park to Oshkosh. He saw this as opportunity to leverage our reputation as the mecca of aviation and bring more business to the city, county and region. David helped lead the city in the right direction with his determination and leadership.

Stew Rieckman, Lynne Webster Leadership Award:  This award is presented in memory of Lynne Webster, a woman who exemplified a commitment to Oshkosh like no other. Stew Rieckman recently retired as the General Manager of the Northwestern where he had been since 1969. Through the years, Stew continued to develop a product that Oshkosh residents could connect with. He got people engaged and kept them informed about community events, causes and important issues. Stew believed it was the newspaper’s obligation to connect the community with good causes to support. Stew will continue to show his leadership during retirement through the United Way.

Beth Wyman, Stephen Mosling Commitment to Education Award:  Beth Wyman has shown her dedication to the education system in Oshkosh by spearheading the Oshkosh4Education project. Oshkosh4Education hosted 50 community listening sessions this past year for residents in Oshkosh to come together. A total of 590 people attended the sessions. The project is the largest community engagement project in support of public education undertaken in Oshkosh. Beth is currently the Board President of the Oshkosh Area Community Foundation. Beth is an advocate for education and ensuring the success of our future workforce.

Nick Behnke, Outstanding Chamber Volunteer Award:  Nick Behnke has been involved with the Oshkosh Chamber since 2000. He serves as a Chamber Ambassador and attends many ribbon cuttings within the community. Nick regularly volunteers for Business After Hours and is a member of the Propel Steering Committee as well. He also plays a vital role in making the Holiday Parade such a success by volunteering his time the day of and staging floats. Nick is a financial advisor and owns a full-service financial planning practice with his partner Bret.

John Rubino, Ambassador of the Year:  John Rubino is an Ambassador who is always willing to help. As a Chamber Ambassador, John volunteers his time to help at Chamber events such as Business After Hours, A.M. Oshkosh, as well as attending ribbon cuttings and sales club. In fact, John has attended more than 40 Chamber events within the past year. He says his favorite Ambassador activity is greeting people at Business After Hours. John has been a Chamber Ambassador since 2009 and served as Ambassador President for the 2012-2013 fiscal year. John is the owner of Stitch on Time Custom Embroidery and Premium Promotions in Oshkosh.

Zack Pawlosky, Propel Young Professional Award: Zack Pawlosky is very active in the Oshkosh Chamber and Propel, the Chamber’s young professional network. As a member of propel, he plays a vital role in the steering committee working to bring more networking opportunities and education seminars. Zack also maintains all the social media for Propel. Zack is the owner of Candeo Creative, a social media marketing agency in Oshkosh that he started at 20 years old. We are honored to have an individual like Zack helping lead Propel and serving our community.

Bemis Company, Enterprise of the Year: Bemis Company continues to grow and provide our community with a significant and consistent amount of new jobs. Headquartered in Neenah, Bemis employs nearly 19,000 individuals in 74 manufacturing facilities in 11countries around the world.  Their most sophisticated flexible packaging operations are located in Oshkosh, where they currently have 6 facilities.  Bemis has operated in Oshkosh for over 30 years and continues to invest in expansion opportunities in the community.  In 2012, Bemis reported net sales of $5.1 billion.

Jay Manufacturing Inc., Small Business of the Year: Founded in 1955, Jay Manufacturing is a premier full-service metal fabricator that continues to be one of the top manufacturers in the industry.

Jay has expanded its current facilities three times since 2005, including a 53,000 square foot facility and technology expansion in 2012. Since 2005, Jay has invested more than $20 million in plant expansions and new technology. Jay is currently retrofitting parts of both Oshkosh locations to meet the large scale needs of new clients, and projects adding an additional two million dollars in technology upgrades in 2014.

The company has increased its employment in each of the last 10 years, now employing 90 individuals in its Oshkosh locations.  Since August Jay has added eight more people to its production staff and within the next six months expects to add at least 20 welders.

About the Oshkosh Area Chamber of Commerce

Founded in 1907, the Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce, a five-star accredited chamber of commerce, is the community’s leading advocate and champion for business.  Its primary objective is to create a climate of growth and success in our community.  The Oshkosh Chamber provides leadership programs and opportunities as well as business-building initiatives that focus on the critical priorities of the community.  By leveraging the support, talent and resources of its members, the Oshkosh Chamber is one of the leading organizations helping to improve the economic vitality and quality of life in Oshkosh.