Select Page

Check out our first Class Notes Chat with UW Oshkosh News Director Alex Hummel. This month, we catch up with two Davids who, while working for SUNY Canton university in New York, realized that they were both UW Oshkosh alumni who were on campus at the same time. Only when they reconnected at their current higher education community and employer out east did they realize they shared an alma mater…


The following Class Notes were received recently in the UW Oshkosh Alumni Office.

’69 Robert Lange (LS), of Baraboo, has completed his graduate studies, leading to a designation as a chartered adviser in philanthropy.

’71 Craig Benson (B), of Leesburg, Fla., has retired from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, where he worked as a senior attorney.

’71 Cheryl Waise (EHS), of De Pere, has retired from Dickinson Elementary School in De Pere, where she has been at Susie C. Altmayer Elementary School working with kindergarten students in the Reading Recovery program. She stays busy traveling with her husband, Ron, and is involved with her church as a member of the Woman’s Club of De Pere.

 ’72 Deborah (Devens) Bartelt (EHS), of Oshkosh, is the 2012-2013 recipient of Marian University’s School of Arts and Sciences Adjunct Teacher of the Year Award.

 ’72 James Nostrant (LS), of Stanwood, Mich., is  president of McNos II LLC. He also works as a public address announcer for Ferris State University football. He was the narrator for the Hall of Fame Banquet and various training videos.

’73 Rochelle (Guhl) Sylvester (EHS), of Crivitz, has been honored by the National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE) with the Joy of Effort Award for her distinguished service, dedication and commitment to improving physical education and sport. She has received several awards in her career, including Physical Education Senior Award, Special Olympics Volunteer of the Year Award, Eastern District Jump Rope for Heart Coordinator of the Year Award, and both Midwest and National Teacher of the Year Awards.

’73 Walter Turkowsky (LS), of Winchester, Va., has retired after being employed with the City of Winchester for 32 years. He spent nine years with the police department and 23 years with the department of social services.

’73 Scott Wittchow (LS), of Fond du Lac, has been selected by UW-Fond du Lac to receive the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award. He retired as managing editor of Action Publications and is an active community volunteer. He serves on the Fond du Lac Area Foundation Board and is a member of Fond du Lac Noon Kiwanis.

’80 Scott Griesbach (B), of Oakdale, Minn., was appointed UW-Stout’s executive director of Student Life Services after serving for 13 years as a director of University Housing. He is now overseeing University Housing, University Dining, University Centers, University Recreation and Sports Facilities, and Campus Card and SLS Technology.

’81 Amy (Klemm) Verbos (B), of Vermillion, S.D., is pleased to announce that she will join Central Michigan University as an assistant professor of management in the College of Business Administration in August. She was previously an assistant professor of management at the University of South Dakota.

’84 Diane (Vanheuklon) Abraham (LS) and ’87 (MBA), of Neenah, has been hired as the new president and chief executive officer of the Oshkosh Area Community Foundation Board of Directors. She will begin working in Oshkosh on July 1.

’86 Robert Raupp (LS), of Sauk Rapids, Minn., is the new district court judge for Benton County. He is the chair of the Central Minnesota Violent Offender Task Force Board of Directors and president of the Benton County Law Library Board.

’87 Richard Wessenberg (B), of Cheyenne, Wyo., recently signed a contract to publish a book with Tate Publishing. He also works for BlueCross BlueShield as a state sales manager, selling individual health products. He is a corporate trainer and oversees the Federal Employee Program and broker relations.

’92 Karla Blumreich (LLCE), of Shiocton, is the new treasurer of Altrusa International Inc. of Appleton, an organization specializing in community needs.

’92 Tamara (Cook) Dever (LS), of Austin, Texas, was recently a presenter at IBPA’s (Independent Book Publishers Association) Publishing University. She’s the owner of TLC Graphics and Narrow Gate Books, providing award-winning book design and publishing assistance.  She and her team will be presenting at the FaithWriters conference in Portland June 28-29.

’93 Ronnie Jacobson (LS), of North Fond du Lac, has been hired by the Salvation Army as the social services director. He will be responsible for community service, family assistance and overseeing Salvation Army programs.

’93 Mary Larson (N), of Appleton, has worked at Thedacare Systems for 10 years as a certified wound care nurse.

’94 Susan (Hoppe) Kirkham (B), of Appleton, is retiring from UW Oshkosh as an instructor. She will miss the interactions with her students, colleagues and the intellectual stimulation and environment of the campus.

’95 Jack Johnsen (EHS), of Oshkosh, has received the Outstanding Educators Award from the Wisconsin Athletic Trainers Association. He was nominated by past and current students for his dedication to the athletic training program at UW Oshkosh.

’02 Daniel Keown (LS), of Kansas City, Mo.,  has completed his master’s degree in choral conducting from Indiana State University and has directed the Chicago Children’s Choir for several seasons. He is finishing up his doctorate in choral conducting from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

’03 Renee Barnett (LS), of New York, N.Y., has continued her vocal studies and has earned a diploma from the American Academy of Dramatic Arts in New York City.  She has performed in professional music theatre both in New York City and on national tours. Recently, she co-founded the New York Children’s Theater Festival and its spring debut performances in Manhattan.

’03 Jacob DeMelle (LS), of Minocqua, has joined Ministry Health Care in the Howard Young Clinic as a certified physician assistant.

’04 Carmen (Simon) Perez (LS), of Woodside, N.Y., is a senior research analyst for CECP and manages the Global Corporate Giving Initiative. She recently spoke at the Volunteer Match Client Summit. Previously, she was the organizer and chief executive officer of a newly opened federal credit union in Long Island City, Queens.

’07 Jamison Hein (LS), of Clintonville, was promoted to director at the Clintonville Public Library, where he has worked since 2008.

’07 Kristen Helms (MS), of Hartford, has been named the 2013 Educator of the Year by Hartford Union High School, after teaching algebra and calculus for 12 years.

’11 Amber Schubert (EHS), of Sturgeon Bay, has become a third-grade teacher and head coach for the girls softball team at Algoma High School.

’11 Collin Williams (EHS), of Wild Rose, has been promoted to sales associate and technician at CSA/Central Security Alarms LLC, where he has worked since 2011.

’12 Jacob Gosz (B), of Appleton, has joined the Board of Directors at Best Advantage Credit Union.

’12 Adam Mitchell (LS), of Appleton, was hired as a field geologist for Nomac Services, a subsidiary of Chesapeake Energy Corp.

• AAS — Associate of Arts and Science Degree
• B — Business
• EHS — Education and Human Services
• LLCE  — Lifelong Learning and Community Engagement
• LS — Letters and Science
• N — Nursing

• DNP — Doctor of Nursing Practice
• GMBA — Global Master of Business Administration
• MA — Master of Arts
• MBA— Master of Business Administration
• MPA — Master of Public Administration
• MS — Master of Science
• MSE — Master of Science in Education
• MSN — Master of Science in Nursing
• MST — Master of Science in Teaching
• MSW — Master of Social Work

Send items for future Class Notes.