Select Page

The United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) named the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh as its 2009-10 winner of the Deb Vercauteren National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III Women’s Program of the Year Award.

UW Oshkosh earned the prize after finishing second at both the NCAA Division III Indoor Track and Field Championship, held March 12-13 in Greencastle, Ind., and NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field Championship, held May 27-29 in Berea, Ohio. The team came in 13th at the NCAA Division III Cross Country Championship, held Nov. 21 in Highland Hills, Ohio.

The NCAA Division III Program of the Year Award is named after USTFCCCA Hall of Famer and legendary UW Oshkosh cross country and track and field coach Deb Vercauteren. The award honors the institution that achieved the most success while competing at national meets in the sports of cross country, indoor track and field, and outdoor track and field.

In order to be eligible for the award, teams must qualify for each of the three NCAA Division III championship meets. Scoring is based on each team’s finish, with one point going to first place and two to second. The lowest combined score for all three championships determine the award winner.

Related story: