Select Page

More than 85 student and faculty research projects from a variety of academic disciplines comprised the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh’s 17th annual Celebration of Scholarship. The event featured posters and visual art exhibits and presentations.

See photos from Celebration of Scholarship.

The following students received awards at the provost’s reception:

Graduate School Awards ($200 each)

  • Andrea Holzbauer (Sheldon Cooper, biology and microbiology) — “Energetic Cost of an Immune Challenge in Chickadee”
  • Rhonda Mesko (Teri Shors and Brant Kedrowski, biology and microbiology, chemistry) — “Inhibition of Vaccinia Virus by Cranberry Compounds”

Undergraduate School Awards ($100 each)

  • Jean Marie Neal (Cheryl Bates, social work) — “A Study on the Feasibility of Mental Health Courts in Fond du Lac, Winnebago and Outagamie Counties in Wisconsin”
  • Nadeesha Thewarapperuma (James Feldman, environmental studies) — “Sustainable Transportation Options at UW Oshkosh”
  • Josh Rosera (William Mode and T. S. Hooyer, geology) — “Control of the Distribution of Glacial Lake Sediments by Buried Topography in East-Central Wisconsin”
  • Jose Oroña (Dana Vaughan, biology and microbiology) — “Transcriptional Regulation of SUMO-1 and Ubc9 in Ground Squirrel Retina”

Clow Award ($125 each)

  • Matthew Behnke (Marianne Johnson, economics) — “Financial Performance of Small Banks: Does Regional Location Matter?”
  • Dayana Sanches Vinueza (M. Kevin McGee, economics) — “Trade and Poverty in the Developing World

Nursing Research Award ($200)

  • Abigail Kunde (Jaya Jambunathan, nursing) — “Being a Nurse: Perceptions of Baccalaureate Nurses One Year Post Graduation from an Accelerated Program”

Related story: