Select Page

A pair of unbeaten teams clash when fifth-ranked University of Wisconsin Oshkosh visits third-ranked Linfield College for a quarterfinal-round contest of the NCAA Division III Football Championship Saturday, Dec. 1 in McMinnville, Ore. Kickoff is set for noon (PST) at Maxwell Field.

UW Oshkosh, champion of the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, owns a 12-0 record after posting playoff wins of 55-10 over The College of St. Scholastica (Minn.) and 37-14 over 21st-ranked Bethel University (Minn.). The Titans have won 14 consecutive contests for the longest active winning streak in NCAA football.

Linfield College, champion of the Northwest Conference, possesses an 11-0 record after earning playoff victories of 27-24 over 20th-ranked Pacific Lutheran University (Wash.) and 30-14 over 14th-ranked North Central College (Ill.).

UW Oshkosh is appearing in postseason play for the first time in school history, while Linfield College is competing in the postseason for the 24th time, including the ninth as a participant in the NCAA Division III Championship. The Wildcats made previous NCAA Division III postseason appearances in 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2010 and 2011. Linfield College captured the 2004 NCAA Division III title with a 28-21 victory over the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas).

Both teams rank among the NCAA Division III statistical leaders in several categories. UW Oshkosh ranks ninth in the country in total offense (501.17), 11th in scoring offense (40.0) and turnover margin (1.33), 12th in scoring defense (14.17), 14th in rushing offense (263.35) and 17th in rushing defense (89.67). Linfield College leads the nation in quarterback sacks (5.36) and tackles for a loss (11.) while ranking seventh in scoring offense (41.82), 10th in rushing defense (79.36) and 15th in passing offense (317.55).

Saturday’s game will be the first between UW Oshkosh and Linfield College. The winner advances to play fourth-ranked University of St. Thomas (Minn.) or seventh-ranked Hobart College (N.Y.) in a semifinal-round game of the 32-team tournament on Dec. 8. The national championship game (Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl) is scheduled for Dec. 14 in Salem, Va.

Learn more: