Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Model United Nations team extended its world-record winning streak with a 25th consecutive Outstanding Delegation award at the 2009 National Model United Nations competition.

The largest intercollegiate Model U.N. in the world was held April 6-11 at U.N. headquarters in New York. The UW Oshkosh delegation represented Nigeria this year.

Twenty-five years constitutes the longest string of consecutive Outstanding Delegation awards by any university at the international competition, which involves 4,700 students from 300 universities in 36 states, five Canadian provinces and 24 countries on five continents.

Student delegates debated a wide range of current issues and world events, using the same rooms and facilities as the global diplomats at the United Nations. The concluding General Assembly was held in the Great Hall at U.N. headquarters

“The winning streak is an amazing accomplishment that makes a significant statement about the quality of students at UW Oshkosh and the quality of education those students are receiving, by demonstrating that generations of UW Oshkosh students stand well above their peers from other universities,” said Kenneth J. Grieb, coordinator of International Studies and faculty adviser to the UW Oshkosh Model United Nations Organization.

Students are judged on their diplomatic and negotiating skills, their ability to write legal documents that embody the agreements reached; the accuracy with which they represent their respective nations; their knowledge of global issues; their familiarity with the United Nations system and its procedures, practices, bodies, and committees; and their speaking ability.

During the competition, UW Oshkosh students met with diplomats representing the African Union and with diplomats from the Nigerian Mission to the United Nations as well as with numerous U.N. officials, including the special adviser to the secretary general on Africa and officers from the United Nations Departments of Disarmament, The International Atomic Energy Agency, The U.N. Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Assistance, the High Commissioner for Refugees, and the Food and Agricultural Organization.  Diplomats from these offices reviewed and commented on the student written position papers. These sessions were based entirely on student questions and the student written position papers.

The members of the UW Oshkosh delegation were Katie K. Connor, Oshkosh; Marci M. DeYoung, Stoughton; Demetria M. Dickinson, Oconto; Veronica E. Dreymiller, Waupun; Corey H. Edwards, Oshkosh; Kasey A. Erb, Marshall; Zachary L. Fritschel, West Bend; Robbie J. Hinz, Oshkosh; Andrew W. Johnson, Janesville; Austin R. Jones, Waukesha; Rebecca R. Kemnitz, Wausau; Matt T. Kitzman, Oshkosh; Alex E. Kurowski, Oshkosh; David M. Litman, Fond du Lac; Victor O. Luk’yanov, Oshkosh; Martin Q. McGee, Oshkosh; Madeline J. Meis, Pittsville; Brenna M. Ranzen, Madison; Robert R. Reeves IV, Manitowoc; and Amber N. Springer, Wisconsin Rapids.

Participating universities included Pace, Colorado, Syracuse, Georgia, Maryland, West Virginia, California State Polytechnic, Pittsburgh, Idaho, Montana, Washington State, Quebec, Milan, the City University of New York, Vassar College, the University of London, the Free University of Berlin, the Universidad del Valle de Mexico, the American University of Cairo, the Central University of Venezuela, Imperial College of London, the University of Copenhagen and Northwestern Polytechnic University of China.