Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh was well represented at the 2008 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA) State High School Football Championships Nov. 20-21 at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison, as three former Titans won state titles, and a fourth led his team to a second-place finish.

  • In Division 2, Steve Jorgensen ’85, saw his Kimberly squad defeat Verona, 28-14, for its second straight title and 28th consecutive win. Jorgensen and the Papermakers concluded a 14-0 campaign for the second consecutive year. In his five years at Kimberly, Jorgensen has posted a 46-11 record. He also directed Oshkosh North to a Division 1 state championship in 2000. Jorgensen earned All-WIAC first-team honors as a defensive end for the UW Oshkosh Titans in 1983.
  • Waupaca captured the Division 3 state championship when John Koronkiewicz ’76, and his Comets took down Reedsburg, 21-20, to cap a 14-0 season. Koronkiewicz previously had taken his squad to the state title in 2006. He owns a 206-70 record in his 33 seasons as Waupaca’s head coach.
  • Dennis Moon ’77, kept the momentum going in Division 4, leading Wautoma to a 20-0 victory over Big Foot in the final. The win earned Wautoma its first state championship and finished off a 13-1 season. Moon has guided the Hornets to a 64-89 record in his 16 years at the helm.
  • Tom Taraska ’75, took his 13-0 Hartland Arrowhead squad to the Division 1 final, where it lost to Mequon Homestead by a score of 13-11. The loss snapped a 27-game winning streak for the Warhawks, which included a state title in 2007. Taraska, who owns a 27-year coaching record of 246-92 at Hartland Arrowhead, also guided the Warhawks to state championships in 1993, 1994 and 1996.

Kennan Timm is sports information director with the athletics department. UW Oshkosh faculty, staff and students are encouraged to contribute calendar items, campus announcements and other good news to UW Oshkosh Today.